User Tag List

SitePoint Guru
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Best practice, simple CMS for beginner

Hi,

I'm moving into ASP.NET from classic ASP. I've tried reading books on ASP.NET, and that's fine to a point, but I really think the best thing to learn is to jump in and have a go. Obviously though, I'd like to learn with best practice principles rather than learning from poorly structured code.

Does anyone know of any simple CMS projects which will do something basic like pull data from a database onto a page, with an area to write data to that page? Just your bog standard simple-as-can-be CMS mechanism.

I've found this: http://www.codeproject.com/useritems...management.asp but it was written by a self-taught newby classic ASP convert. Things in it like having an include file on every page and having to write out the database connection on each page on which it's required strike me as being not best practice and simply a novices approach to .NET.

I don't want to be one of these converts who just writes basically ASP and saves it as an .aspx and thinks they can code in .NET.

If anyone has any sample code or can point me at a very simple project I can deconstruct, preferably in C# I'd be most grateful.

Thanks for your help folks...

SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Simple .NET web projects are few and far between. That said, I would look at a few of the better open-source .NET blog applications, such as SubText or BlogEngine.NET. The latter is the simpler, but both are decent examples.

SitePoint Guru
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks wwb, I've not come across these.