SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Simple Question

  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot Drew630's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Simple Question

    I was wondering how one goes about changing the startup page for a web? Usually the file is called index.html, but I want to start with an index.asp page. Can anyone fill me in? Do I need to contact my server host and have them change it?

    Drew
    ~Drew

    There Is No Greater Joy Than Soaring High On The Wings Of Your Dreams, Except Maybe The Joy Of Watching A Dreamer Who Has Nowhere To Land But In The Ocean Of Reality.

  2. #2
    Gone!
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Witty Location Parody
    Posts
    3,889
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So long as there is no index.html, default.htm, or default.asp in the root directory the index.asp will be the startup page ( if you host supports asp of course)

    Glen

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot Drew630's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, I tried that. I deleted the index.htm fil that I had and replaced it with the index.asp file but when I tried to access the site, it gave me errors saying that I had to access to the page. But I know I have asp capablilites since I use them elsewhere in the site. any ideas?

    Drew
    ~Drew

    There Is No Greater Joy Than Soaring High On The Wings Of Your Dreams, Except Maybe The Joy Of Watching A Dreamer Who Has Nowhere To Land But In The Ocean Of Reality.

  4. #4
    Gone!
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Witty Location Parody
    Posts
    3,889
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Weird, not sure about that but here is the order servers will generally look for in order: index.html, index.htm, index.asp, default.html, default.htm, default.asp

  5. #5
    + platinum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    6,441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I always use default.asp ... dont know why, thats just what i use

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just because your host supports ASP does not necessarily mean that they've automatically got index.asp allowed as the index page. You might need to ask them to allow it. You would think it would be automatic. My host, even though it supports PHP still has .html as the default page.

    I would email your hosting company.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast Crooner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Chambersburg, PA
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just add a DirectoryIndex line to your .htaccess file and whatever page you specify will open as the default page.

    ie. DirectoryIndex filename.asp
    Dean-Martin.com Managed IT Solutions
    eLiveHost.com Premium Hosting
    4StateShopper.com Community Forums

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If he's using ASP then he's most likely on an NT server which means no htaccess file. I don't know what the comparable NT version of the htaccess file is so I can't help you there.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  9. #9
    + platinum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    6,441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You could also try an include if worst comes to worst

  10. #10
    SitePoint Zealot Drew630's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, first off, I did try an include to start with and it never worked, I am assuming since the file had an .htm extension. So I tried making it an asp file which did run the code then. Of course, I was still having problems with the include, so I just addedthe code to the top. Crude, but effective.

    the problem came with then setting the page as my startup page. I tried deleting my other index file, but it said that it couldn't find the startup page. So, I contacted my provider, since I have no direct control over the structure of my server, and had him change the option, so now it works. Thanks guys for your help.

    Drew
    ~Drew

    There Is No Greater Joy Than Soaring High On The Wings Of Your Dreams, Except Maybe The Joy Of Watching A Dreamer Who Has Nowhere To Land But In The Ocean Of Reality.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •