SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    45
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Development Enviroment

    Hey all,

    Just wondering what would be the best setup if you were having a few users work on the same RoR project.

    I have a server running Linux that could be used, as well as 3 windows based machines.

    Has anyone setup a development environment with the above configuration or similar?

    Cheers

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    268
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    At work we use subversion for our version control, each with a local checked out copy which we develop and test on, and when our changes are stable we commit them back to the repo to update the trunk. It works pretty well, and we hardly ever have conflicts (which are trivial to fix).
    (We all develop on macs and our svn repo is on a server that is used for various things)
    If you give someone a program,
    you will frustrate them for a day;
    if you teach them how to program,
    you will frustrate them for a lifetime.

  3. #3
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,236
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Set up subversion on the Linux server, connect to it from your Windows workstations using your IDE or a subversion client like TortoiseSVN. This is pretty standard for most development teams.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    13
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    set up Elipse as Editor, Subversion Server and RadRail Elipse Plugin. And You are ready to go!
    1. Make Money Online Now Resource Center!
    2. Ask Blog Expert For Your Blogging Solution.
    3. Read Free Guide Make Money Online Now!
    4. Make Money Online Real Success!

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    45
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Cheers guys, I took your advice and the setup is working great.
    Website:
    Where inspiration meets technology
    Sydney Web Design | Ryan Web Solutions

  6. #6
    SitePoint Guru CompiledMonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    975
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What did you end up going with?

    I too use Subversion for source control. On the Mac, I'm using TextMate as my editor and 3 Terminals to run everything; 1 for the server, 1 for MySQL access, and 1 for running Rails commands.

  7. #7
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,236
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by CompiledMonkey View Post
    What did you end up going with?

    I too use Subversion for source control. On the Mac, I'm using TextMate as my editor and 3 Terminals to run everything; 1 for the server, 1 for MySQL access, and 1 for running Rails commands.
    Terminal clutter is one thing I really hate about developing Rails apps. I have a similar setup to you but I tend to have an additional terminal window/tab open for script/console, not to mention having a couple of browsers and maybe some documentation open on my screen at the same time

  8. #8
    SitePoint Guru CompiledMonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    975
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I like it actually. My 23" cinema handles it well.

  9. #9
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,236
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by CompiledMonkey View Post
    I like it actually. My 23" cinema handles it well.
    yeah well my 13" macbook doesn't so gimme your screen

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    45
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My setup of 2 x 22" Chemei's works very well with Rails, although I agree that it is a hassle having so many terminals open at once. It's a good idea to make a script that loads up everything you need for a development environment with one click, saves time
    Website:
    Where inspiration meets technology
    Sydney Web Design | Ryan Web Solutions


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •