SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Splicing Images

  1. #1
    Non-Member spdrcr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    214
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Splicing Images

    I'm looking for a program, and I used to have a good one, that can take a large image and cut it up into smaller images...

    Can someone tell me a good one..

  2. #2
    Prolific Blogger silver trophy Technosailor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Before These Crowded Streets
    Posts
    9,446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Maybe you'll find some by searching Google for image slicing. Incidentally, Photoshop 6 comes with Image Ready which does Slicing quite nicely. I think Fireworks does it as well. But I've used some freeware to do...just can't think of which one.

    Sketch
    Aaron Brazell
    Technosailor



  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot Neon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    105
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think slicing in photoshop and psp is the easiest way

    BTW. my 100th post
    Art4eye <-- a great resorce for webdesigners

    You can't make anyone love you, you can only stalk them and hope that they panic and give in!!

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just do it manually. In Photoshop, use guides to divide up your image. Then draw the selection for the slice that you want to create. Then press CTRL + SHIFT + C. That copies all layers inside the selected area. You can then paste that into a new document and save it. A few extra steps but I prefer to have total control over my images.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  5. #5
    Non-Member spdrcr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    214
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't have photoshop, I only have Paint Shop Pro 6

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ah...same principle, but duplicate the image several times. Make your selection, then crop the image to that selection and export.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  7. #7
    Non-Member spdrcr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    214
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I used to have Coffeecup Image Splicer, or whatever it's/was called. I can't seem to find it anywhere, even on the Coffeecup website..

    I have done the crop and export method before, but I always have the problem of overlapping the two images when I do that..anyways...

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard iTec's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,243
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    what i do when i am slicing images (psp) is instead of hitting ctrl-c then crtl-v hit ctrl-x then ctrl-v, that way you delete the portion you have just coppied and you no longer have an overlaping image
    hope that helps.. ;0)
    [edit]
    not sure if v6 has this, but try file > export > image slicer
    Last edited by iTec; Feb 14, 2002 at 00:21.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •