SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Which way to go for my applications

Ok, I know this is going to start a debate here, but I'm hoping some of you will be open minded.

I've been needing to develop my applications for over 3 yrs. now & because I don't have the capital to pay someone & I've been ripped off by previous programmers who's code turned out to be garbage, or the programmers just disappeared off the face of the earth, I'm very cautious.

I'm considering once again to JV with a biz minded programmer, but there are so few out there who don't have that 9-5 mentality & who do have vision & are nice, reliable, responsible, respectful people, it's hard. The last thing I need is to promise my customers a solid program & 1/2 way thru the guy disappears.

So the first thing is I'm still looking for someone who will screen a person's code for security fluidity, commenting, etc. & do a check to see if they can find any negative things said about their work ethic, personality, etc. This position will be very occasionally of course & of course the question is, how do I know if your code is any good LOL

I had one guy from here say he'd do it, but now he's being kind & respectful & NOT returning my e-mails or IMs for absolutely no reason & the *%$# just lost himself a potential project with another entreprenuer I was just talking to last week who's looking for a backup PHP coder.

I'm looking for sane people, not disrespectful egomaniacs who have issues out the ying yang.

Second question is what is the better route to go.

Should I have an application built from scratch, or should I buy an existing piece of software & tweak it?

Where do I go to find existing software or programmers who have spent years developing existing portals they want to sell so it will be cheaper for me to launch my applications?

Is there other sites/MBs I can go to?

Thanks for any help you can give me

Michelle

SitePoint Enthusiast