SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Thumbs down In a bad and rapidly declining hosting situation

I am a web developer and have had a server management role forced upon me through lack of resources with one of clients. They were having a bad time with their original host, so I researched hosting companies and ended up going with a big company in the US.

Things went really well for a while, they were helpful and the server was highly reliable. Our web application has been in slow decline for a long time, and i'm on the verge of finishing a totally new php/mysql script that will function alot better than the original.

The problem is that I think the host has had a change of management/ownership or something... there website has a new look (which is pretty crap IMO). I will just rant a little about the issues I have with them:

- there ticketing system is able to receive new tickets, but the ticket history works <1&#37; of the time so its virtually impossible to backtrack previous issues

- there advertising that had me convinced to use them was along the lines of "focus on your business while we handle backend issues"

- there staff are getting increasingly cheeky and now barely skim over tickets instead of answering questions properly

- they made a huge blunder when we requested and paid for a dedicated backup system. they installed a second hard drive but didn't config the backup script to write to it, so all the backup files reside on our primary hd and its now completely out of disk space. mysql has failed along with other things as a result, and my client is presently losing money every minute for the last 8 hours

- the server runs HSPc which (at least the version we have) is total absolute rubbish. Probably 80% of problems relate to HSPc breaking things. The php and mysql versions are so damn old (and probably the OS as well), and we can't even upgrade them because HSPc doesn't support them.