SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: apache

  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Miramar, Fl.
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    apache

    hello guys
    does any body knows why am I getting this.

    Thanks to all.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard Crowe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Huntsville
    Posts
    1,117
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Your post was a little on the vague side. Maybe a little more info.

    Though I could take a stab in the dark and say it's a configuration issue. Isn't it always?
    Chrispian H. Burks
    Nothing To Say

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Miramar, Fl.
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    this is what I get when try to start apache.

    Syntax error on line 979 of c:/apache/conf/httpd.conf:
    Cannot load c:/php4/sapi/php4apache.dll into server: <31> A device attached to the system is not functioning:
    Note the errors or messages above, and press the <ESC> key to exit. 22....

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have you opened the httpd.conf and gone to line 979? If oyu have a text editor like EditPlus or even Dreamweaver, turn on line numbers, turn OFF, line wrapping and scroll down to that line.

    It's likely that the path to your PHP module is wrong.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Miramar, Fl.
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Arrow

    I'm at work right now I'll check when I get home
    Thanks

  6. #6
    Mlle. Ledoyen silver trophy seanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7,168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Let's see the lines you added to your httpd.conf

    Sean
    Harry Potter

    -- You lived inside my world so softly
    -- Protected only by the kindness of your nature

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Wink

    What OS are you running? (I am assuming a Windows box)
    Is this a new install of Apache?

    It's saying that apache cannot find the php4apache.dll

    Make sure your paths are correct in the httpd.conf file and that the php4apache.dll is in the correct dir.

    If this is on a Windows box, then read on, if not, reply with the Operating System that you are using and I will help you out.


    If this is a new install of apache and php, (I'm assuming it is) on a Windows box, install apache (which you have already done at c:\apache, it just needs some path corrections), then install php4.x.x(which you have done at c:\php4).

    You must go into your php directory and copy the php.ini-dist file to your %windows% directory.
    On win 95/98 this would be c:\windows
    On Win2000, this would be c:\winnt

    After it is copied to the respective directory, go to the c:\windows or winnt directory, find the php.ini-dist and rename it to php.ini. the file is now an ini file to windows.

    Open your newly created php.ini file with notepad and find the line that says "extension_dir" edit the line so that it reads
    extension_dir = c:\php4
    and then save your changes and exit notepad.

    Now move the php4ts.dll to this dir:
    Win95/98 move it to c:\windows\system
    Win2000 move it to c:\winnt\system32

    Now open up the Apache httpd.conf and put the following lines in at the bottom of the file ( I like to add all modifications at the bottom of the file, this way any and all added lines are in 1 place)
    Anyway add these lines:

    ScriptAlias /php/ "c:/php4/"
    AddType application/x-httpd-php .php
    Action application/x-httpd-php "php4/php.exe"
    LoadModule php4_module c:/php4/sapi/php4apache.dll
    Addtype application/x-httpd-php .php

    This will cover 2 basic ways to use php with apache.


    After all this, restart your Apache webserver and your problem should be gone.
    Also always make sure that on the Win/apache setup that your backslashes \ are changed to forward slashes /.



    Cya,
    /D


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •