SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    facebook app in php

    hi all.

    i am making a facebook app in php and am facing a basic problem. now i have a hunch on what the problem might be, but i am looking for some guidance and reassurance on whether i am correct in my assessment.

    the problem in that i have a local apache sever installed v2.0.59 and php v5.0.4 and am testing my php files locally before i upload them. when i test my files locally, everything seems to work fine.

    when i upload the files to my web server which runs on php v4.3.11, the files (php scripts) don't run as they ran on my local server.

    my diagnosis tells me that the problem lies with the php version of my web server (v4.3.11) which doesn't play php scripts that rely on v5.0.4.

    my first question is: is this assessment correct?

    now i contacted my hosting service and told them to switch my web server to one that supports php 5 and they said the only option is switch to a server that runs php v5.1.6.

    my second question: if my assessment above IS correct, then will my v5.0.4 php files work properly on a web server with php v5.1.6? the versions are not EXACTLY the same but they are close..

    i would appreciate any advice/help on this matter.

    thank you!

    --
    dg

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict Php_penguin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Colwyn Bay, Wales, UK
    Posts
    287
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    how about either upgrading or downgrading your localhost's PHP version?

    try the 4.311 version first. If the script still works then it is any of these:
    - you are relying on a module which is not default
    - the server is modified in some way
    - the server has different rules on loading files across domains

    if the script doesn't work, then upgrade your localhost to 5.16, and check the script again.

    if it does work, upgrade your server to 5.16

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    if i have a php 5.0.4 running locally and php 5.1.6 running on my testing web server, do you think i should face similar problems of consistency in running php scripts?

    both environments are configured to php 5xx but not EXACTLY the same version...do you think this will lead to major problems?

    thanks

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict Php_penguin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Colwyn Bay, Wales, UK
    Posts
    287
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    im not sure...

    its best to have both local+remote running the same systems, and you have control over local, so sync it with remote.

    just install php 5.1.6 on your local machine.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok sounds good - is there a quick way to just upgrade from php 5.0.4 to php 5.1.6 or do i have do go through the complete installation process again..?

    if there is quick way, can you specify the steps?

    thanks a lot!

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict Php_penguin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Colwyn Bay, Wales, UK
    Posts
    287
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    sorry, i am running Ubuntu Linux, so i can't help with the windows install process.

    In linux it is simply a case of selecting the package and click install, thats it.

    Im gonna guess that windows isn't as easy.

    heres the windows installer link:
    http://uk3.php.net/get/php-5.2.3-win.../from/a/mirror
    Last edited by Php_penguin; Jul 15, 2007 at 01:45. Reason: added link


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •