SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Patrick Lenz's Book : Theoretically Good byt Practically Useless …

Email : simonwhel@yahoo.com

“If I can do it then it can’t be done ! …”.

As Dr. Nick of the Simpsons sez :

Hi Everybody !

I’ve been working in software for almost 30 years.

Over the years one of the phrases that has resonated most powerfully with my work experience is the following :

In theory, there’s no difference between theory and practice but …
    In practice, there is.

I recently picked up a copy of Patrick Lenz’s book : “Build Your Own Ruby on Rails”. I intended to use it to help me develop my 1st Ruby on Rails Web Application.

Theoretically it seems to be quite a good book. It’s well written. It has good examples and it seems to cover all the basics that one needs to know in order to get up and working.

Practically speaking it is completely useless. Well, completely useless to me at this point.

I also have to say that this is not necessarily Patrick’s fault. I may very well have slipped up on some small detail that has both stopped & stymied my progress entirely.

At this point I haven’t even been able to get to doing any of the actual Ruby or Rails work on my project as I’m both stymied and stuck in the installation process. If I can’t finish the installation in “Chapter 2 : Getting Started” then I cannot use the book to actually get down and do some Ruby and Rails work. At this point the book is useful to me only as a :

• Door Stop
    • Book End
    • Drink Coaster
    • Toilet Paper.
    • Kevlar Substitute (I live in NYC).

By the way, I’m running Mac OSX 10.4.10 on a single processor 1.8 GHz PowerPC G5.

So far, by following Patrick’s instructions in “Chapter 2 : Getting Started”, I’ve been able (I think) to sequentially install the following :

1. Readline (version ? : successful, I think)
    2. Ruby (version 1.8.4 – 2005-12-24 : successful, I think)