SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    457
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    optimise website loading time

    Hello all, I have my website all sorted, however, the loading time of each page on the site is taking too long.

    Currently, my home page is taking around 24.32 seconds on a ISDN 128K connection to load.

    Could any1 suggest some points that its worth me looking into that will enable my website to load quicker.

    Cheers

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard HarryR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,376
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The first thing to work out is which part is causing it to take most time to load.

    Just assuming that you've tested it on higher bandwidth connections or locally, I'd say that you've got far too much junk (unneeded images etc.) on the page or the code is extremely bloated.

    Can you give us the link to your site so we can take a look?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy
    wwb_99's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    10,576
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    First, what is the Time to First Byte and Time To Last Byte?

    Second, for ASP.NET, an easy place to start is rationalizing the viewstate. It can get real, real bloated. Especially when GridViews and the like are involved. Try turning it off selectively. Or globally, and see what breaks.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    457
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello there, thanks for your quick replies.

    The url of the site is:
    http://www.best-mobile-contracts.co..../textalot.aspx

    I only have the basic amount of images on the page, it must be the code.

    i have tried disabling the viewstate of the page, which creates errors (as I have dropdown boxes that require a viewstate). After this, I have tried disabling just the Gridview viewstate (GridView1.EnableViewState = false, however this still does not make aany difference.

    Any further ideas?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru siphilp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Fife, Scotland
    Posts
    663
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    have you thought about your queries that are hitting your database? Might not be the code

  6. #6
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    457
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just thinking, is there any way of me loading a blank page first, then start to upload the content of the site one the blank page has loaded.

    Its just at the moment the traiffic that is directed to me site will not wait for the page to load. (i.e. hight bounce rate)

  7. #7
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy
    wwb_99's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    10,576
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Bandwidth-wise, it is a bit hefty, but not horribly so.

    Usability-wise, it needs alot of help. I would go ask folks in the web site reviews forums what they suggest.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy bluedreamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Middle England
    Posts
    3,270
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You have display issues in Firefox as well, lots of html errors as well. In FF I get the top/header then white space (lots of it) - that's not going to help your visitor retention.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    457
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Any ideas the problem with my sites code why it wont display properly in firefox?

  10. #10
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy
    wwb_99's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    10,576
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The fundamental reason is that your HTML output is atrocious at best. Clean that up and it should fix most issues.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Zealot vb_vs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    147
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    1 too many images,,,,,
    2 too much fragments of HTML
    3 try to optimize the gridview(i assume you are use data control,like dataview to be filled)
    4 remove any unneccessay viewstate, hidden filed)
    a software developer


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •