User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

OOP / Class Member Variables Question

I'm a procedural programmer who is dipping his feet into OOP for the first time. I have a question regarding member variables, take the following code for example (taken from a random web site):

Code PHP:
    class test
    {
    	public $var;
    	function Setvar()
    	{
    		$this->var = "test";
    	}
    	function Getvar()
    	{
    		return $this->var;
    	}
    }

$test = new test();
    $test->Setvar();
    echo $test->Getvar();

What is the point of the 'public $var;' when it's blank? I understand there must be a reason to set it like that, I just don't understand that reason.

From that example.. why would this be bad?

Code PHP:
    class test
    {
    	function Setvar()
    	{
    		$this->var = "test";
    	}
    	function Getvar()
    	{
    		return $this->var;
    	}
    }

$test = new test();
    $test->Setvar();
    echo $test->Getvar();

Both examples work, so why set an empty variable at the top of the class? Is it just for "neatness"?
    Rawkes - Standards based web design and development

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The ideas it that you explicitly define all the variables you're going to use ahead of time so that programming becomes more logical and easier for other people to understand (you can also use tools like phpdoc to document it)

Additionally, with PHP5 you can set protection levels (public/protected/private) when you define a class property to restrict a good programming model.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok that makes sense. So it's for presentation and good practice rather than being required?
    Rawkes - Standards based web design and development

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)