SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

The Idea behind PHP authentication (Newb seeking answers)

I m designing a small web application that displays information that users input. Of course it requires user to register first, then their information would get displayed. The user infos are stored in a MYSQL database, and it will get called on a public page (only editting or adding info needs registeration)

The main thing I m confused about is, how to differentiate (differ? distinguish?) between public page and login-required pages. Would it be the same php script file but with some if...else that checks for logins?

I dont make sense at all

Since I started learning about PHP 2 weeks ago, I still unsure how this will work. If you have any tutorials or tips. Please post

SitePoint Enthusiast GhostGambler's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    PHP Code:
    <?php
    function require_login() {
      if (!isset(
    $_SESSION['logged_in'])) {
        echo 
    "login-form";
        die();
      }
    }

require_login();
    outsource the function into a global file and then just call it whenever a login is required ... can be done a lot more beautiful of course, but that's it actually~

SitePoint Evangelist
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm not certain why you would use die() in the case a user isn't logged in. It makes more sense to continue the "if" statement and call an alternative function in "else", like displaying whatever needs to be displayed for logged in users.

SitePoint Enthusiast GhostGambler's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This function is for a site which as a whole requires the user to be logged in.

So you could do something like
    PHP Code:
    <?php
    include global.inc;
    require_login();
    echo 
    the real content of the sitejust for logged-in users;