SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

DW: Layout Cells and Layout Tables

Im new to DW and just starting to get to grips with it and Im wondering about how these two features should be used.

From what I can see, Layout Tables enforce a structure on the web page that cannot be altered, which I think is a good thing as it allows for pages to appear consistantly.

Layout cells on the other hand can and do change in size when edits are made to text etc if they are not encpasulated within a layout table.

Now my question is along the lines of, is it always best to use layout table for everything and have them encapsulate layout cells? Or is there a case for layout cells without layout tables in sections of a page or even a whole page?

Which is also a better design practice?
    stablewars.com - WWF Fantasy Wrestling, It ain't no E-fed!

SitePoint Wizard silver trophy redemption's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: DW: Layout Cells and Layout Tables

Originally posted by Crippler
    Now my question is along the lines of, is it always best to use layout table for everything and have them encapsulate layout cells? Or is there a case for layout cells without layout tables in sections of a page or even a whole page?
    ok i'm not an expert with Dreamweaver becos i type in my html so don't buy everything that i say...

the layout table in dreamweaver is actually the <table> element in html and the layout cell the <td> tag, which is the cell tag...

each cell must have an enclosing table which would contain it so it shouldn't be possible that there would be a case for layout cells without layout tables...

personally, i find it better to either use seperate tables for diff sections or have an all-encompassing table with cells that contain tables...

hope i'm not on the wrong track though

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)