SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    853
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    variables displaying many times on same page

    Hi guys

    Had this problem a couple of times

    Some variables are appearing several times

    here is 1 example

    http://www.notexperienced.co.uk/listings.php?id=22


    This has also happened on other parts of the site

    Why could this be?

  2. #2
    He's No Good To Me Dead silver trophybronze trophy stymiee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Slave I
    Posts
    23,449
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Without seeing code I would have to guess that you have a loop being executed. Find the spot where that variable is being echoed and check its value. If it is wrong find the place before it and see its value there. Keep backtracking until you find where it is being corrupted.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    853
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    PHP Code:
    <?php
    session_start
    () ;

    ?>


    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

    <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
    <head>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />



    <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="style.css" />

    </head>

    <body>

    <?php include ("header.php"?>
    <?php 
    include ("nav3.php"?>




    <div id="main">
     
         <div class="featured">
           <p>Recruiting now...</p>
            
          </div>

          <div id="content">
            <p class="title"></p>
    <FONT SIZE="3" face="century gothic">

    <?php


    //connect to your database ** EDIT REQUIRED HERE **
    mysql_connect("localhost","notexper_two","three"); //(host, username, password)

    //specify database ** EDIT REQUIRED HERE **
    mysql_select_db("notexper_one") or die("Unable to select database"); //select which database we're using



                  
    $id $_GET['id'];

                  
    $sql " select * from jobs where id=$id";

                  
    $result mysql_query ($sql);

                  while (
    $row mysql_fetch_array($result))
                  {

                  
    $field1$row["jobtitle"];
                  
    $field2$row["jobdescription"];
                  
    $field3$row["location"];
                  
    $field4$row["category"];
                  
    $field5$row["salary"];
                  
    $field6$row["firstname"];
                  
    $field7$row["surname"];
                  
    $field8$row["email"];
                  
    $field9$row["telephone"];
                  
    $field10$row["jobstatus"];
                  
    $field11$row["company"];        
      
                  
    $field13$row["applications"];
                  
    $field14$row["sublocation"];
                  
    $field15$row["id"];
               


    echo 
    "<title>$field1</title>";
    echo 
    "<table width=100%><tr><td valign=top><font size=4 ><b>$field1</b></center></td><td align=right>job id:<B>$field15</b></td></tr></table><bR>";
    echo 
    "<table width=100%><tr><td width=58% valign=top>$field2</td><Td align=right valign=top>
    <Table><tr><td><img src=http://www.notexperienced.co.uk/images/add.gif></td><td valign=top>

    - <a href=savejob.php?id=" 
    $id ">Add to my jobs</a></td></tr>
    <Tr><td><img src=http://www.notexperienced.co.uk/images/mail.gif></td><Td><a href=tellafriend.php?id=" 
    $id ">Send to a friend</a></td></tr>

    <Tr><td><img src=http://www.notexperienced.co.uk/images/print.gif  onClick=window.print()></td><td>- <a href=>Print This Page</a></td></tr>
    <Tr><td><img src=http://www.notexperienced.co.uk/images/apply.gif></td><td> <a href=apply.php?id=" 
    $id ">Apply for this job</a></td></tr></table><Br><Br>";
    echo 
    "<font size=3 ><b>Category:</b> $field4<br>";
    echo 
    "<font size=3 ><b>Location:</b> $field14$field3</b> <br><a href='http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&q=rm64px'>View Map</a><br>";
    echo 
    "<font size=3 ><b>Salary:</b> $field5</b><br>";
    echo 
    "<font size=3 ><b>Job Status:</b> $field10</b><br>";
    echo 
    "<font size=3 ><b>Applications:</b> $field13</b><br>";
    echo ;
    echo 
    "<font size=3 ><b>Date Added:</b>";
    $query="select *, date_format(startdate,'%D %b %Y') as MyDate from jobs";

    $result=@mysql_query($query);

    if(@
    mysql_num_rows($result) > 0)

    {

    while(
    $row_articals=@mysql_fetch_array($result))

    {

    echo 
    $row_articals['MyDate'] . "<br>";

    }

    }








    echo 
    " </b><br>
    </td>
    </tr>
    </table>
    <br>
    <font size=4 ><b>Contact Details</b>
    <br>
    <font size=2>If you wish to apply for this job please click the apply lin kin the top right hand corner
    <br><br>"
    ;
    echo 
    "<font size=3 ><b>Company Name:</b> $field11<br>";
    echo 
    "<font size=3 ><b>Contact Name:</b> $field6 $field7<br>";
    echo 
    "<font size=3 ><b>Email:</b><a href=mailto:field8>$field8</a><br>";
    echo 
    "<font size=3 ><b>Phone Number:</b>$field9<br>
    "
    ;




    // now $row_articles['MyDate'] will give the correct date










    }
    ?>


    <html>
    <head>
    <title>Add New MySQL User</title>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
    </head>

    <body>





















    <?php include ("footer.php"?>

  4. #4
    ✯✯✯ silver trophybronze trophy php_daemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    5,284
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You're using $result for both queries, corrupting it for the first one that way.

    What even worse, you're executing the same query in the loop. Don't push your luck, the server might explode! (ok, a bit exaggerating, but that's a bad practice). Load the second query results into an array and then use it in the loop. Although, I'm not sure why do you output the same dates for every job there.
    Saul

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    853
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    could you point out which bit of code is wrong?

  6. #6
    ✯✯✯ silver trophybronze trophy php_daemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    5,284
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Code php:
    $result=@mysql_query($query);
     
    if(@mysql_num_rows($result) > 0)
    {
    while($row_articals=@mysql_fetch_array($result))
    {
    echo $row_articals['MyDate'] . "<br>";
    }
    }
    Saul

  7. #7
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    853
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    how should it be?

  8. #8
    ✯✯✯ silver trophybronze trophy php_daemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    5,284
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Code php:
    $result2=@mysql_query($query);
     
    if(@mysql_num_rows($result2) > 0)
    {
    while($row_articals=@mysql_fetch_array($result2))
    {
    echo $row_articals['MyDate'] . "<br>";
    }
    }

    Although, that's terrible. I don't see why shouldn't you create that list of dates in advance, then just add that to your jobs list. The dates are the same all the time anyway:

    Code php:
    $id = $_GET['id'];
     
    $query="select *, date_format(startdate,'%D %b %Y') as MyDate from jobs";
    $result=@mysql_query($query);
    $dates='';
    if(@mysql_num_rows($result) > 0)
    {
    	while($row_articals=@mysql_fetch_array($result))
    	{
    		$dates.=$row_articals['MyDate'] . "<br>";
    	}
    }
     
    $sql = " select * from jobs where id=$id";
    $result = mysql_query ($sql);
     
    while ($row = mysql_fetch_array($result))
    {
    	$field1= $row["jobtitle"];
    	$field2= $row["jobdescription"];
    	$field3= $row["location"];
    	$field4= $row["category"];
    	$field5= $row["salary"];
    	$field6= $row["firstname"];
    	$field7= $row["surname"];
    	$field8= $row["email"];
    	$field9= $row["telephone"];
    	$field10= $row["jobstatus"];
    	$field11= $row["company"];        
    	$field13= $row["applications"];
    	$field14= $row["sublocation"];
    	$field15= $row["id"];
     
    	echo "<title>$field1</title>";
    	echo "<table width=100%><tr><td valign=top><font size=4 ><b>$field1</b></center></td><td align=right>job id:<B>$field15</b></td></tr></table><bR>";
    	echo "<table width=100%><tr><td width=58% valign=top>$field2</td><Td align=right valign=top>
    	<Table><tr><td><img src=http://www.notexperienced.co.uk/images/add.gif></td><td valign=top>
    	- <a href=savejob.php?id=" . $id . ">Add to my jobs</a></td></tr>
    	<Tr><td><img src=http://www.notexperienced.co.uk/images/mail.gif></td><Td><a href=tellafriend.php?id=" . $id . ">Send to a friend</a></td></tr>
    	<Tr><td><img src=http://www.notexperienced.co.uk/images/print.gif  onClick=window.print()></td><td>- <a href=>Print This Page</a></td></tr>
    	<Tr><td><img src=http://www.notexperienced.co.uk/images/apply.gif></td><td> <a href=apply.php?id=" . $id . ">Apply for this job</a></td></tr></table><Br><Br>"
    	echo "<font size=3 ><b>Category:</b> $field4<br>";
    	echo "<font size=3 ><b>Location:</b> $field14, $field3</b> <br><a href='http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&q=rm64px'>View Map</a><br>";
    	echo "<font size=3 ><b>Salary:</b> $field5</b><br>";
    	echo "<font size=3 ><b>Job Status:</b> $field10</b><br>";
    	echo "<font size=3 ><b>Applications:</b> $field13</b><br>";
    	echo "<font size=3 ><b>Date Added:</b>";
    	echo $dates;
    	echo " </b><br>
    	</td>
    	</tr>
    	</table>
    	<br>
    	<font size=4 ><b>Contact Details</b>
    	<br>
    	<font size=2>If you wish to apply for this job please click the apply lin kin the top right hand corner
    	<br><br>";
    	echo "<font size=3 ><b>Company Name:</b> $field11<br>";
    	echo "<font size=3 ><b>Contact Name:</b> $field6 $field7<br>";
    	echo "<font size=3 ><b>Email:</b><a href=mailto:field8>$field8</a><br>";
    	echo "<font size=3 ><b>Phone Number:</b>$field9<br>
    ";
    }
    Saul


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •