User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Wordpress - Silly question maybe...

Hi

I'm relatively new to web design and so have a question regarding wordpress. nbow this may sound stupid but I was wondering if it is a standalone blogging package or whether I could integrate it into a commercial site?

I am looking to develop a site that will have a social networking aspect to it. On one side there will be an advertising / info element but on the other I want to be able to offer blogs and forums for user interativity. For the forum i'm going to use vBulletin I think.

Its the blogging side I'm confused about. Should I build my own (which I have no idea how to do) or can I integrate something like wordpress to allow users to blog on my site.

The site is not up yet as i'm just in the early stages of planning it out.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Will there be one blog, or many blogs? ie each member of the site can have their own blog?

Either way you can integrate Wordpress into your site -- for a single blog use the standard wordpress, for multiple blogs use the mu version.

Mike

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Mike

There will be multiple blogs. i want to be able to offer users the opportunity to create their own blog on the site.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Then you should look at wordpress mu:

http://mu.wordpress.org/

It might suit your neesds.

Mike

In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)