SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast ct_roy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    74
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Copy form field value from one window to the next

    Hi,

    I don't think this is possible but maybe one of you javascript gurus will prove me wrong

    I've got a input box form field value called "Name" that I want a user to be able to click a "copy" button which would automatically copy the value to another form field in a separate window (in a different application)

    I've got full control over both applications so I can amend any window, form, field names etc.

    Basically I want to negate the need for the user to have to manually copy and paste the data from one field in one application to the same field in another application.

    Anyone ever done anything like this?

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard gRoberts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Birtley, UK
    Posts
    2,439
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This is a strange one, I think you can only do it on the same domain, and i've only personally done it whilst using the Window.Opener object.

    But, IIRC if you use open a new window and give it a name, you should be able to access it via that.

    Then its as simple as calling the element by it's id.


  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast ct_roy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    74
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    cheers Gav, I'll play around with that and let you know how I get on.

    Thanks for the quick response!

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast ct_roy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    74
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    cheers Gav, I'll play around with that and let you know how I get on.

    Thanks for the quick response!

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard gRoberts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Birtley, UK
    Posts
    2,439
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)


  6. #6
    SitePoint Member Shanetim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Perhaps you can make the form action toward the application but so once it's submitted it opens in a new window and the page will automatically insert the $_POST data into the fields. That's the best example I can give.

    So we'd have on the receiving page:

    <form input="text" value="$_POST[value]" name="value" />
    That's my advice for you buddy.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Islamabad
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think you're looking for something like this.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •