SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Social networking project: how long will it take...

Right now, I'm estimating timeframe for a project that will have similar functionality as www.eventful.com or upcoming.org.

The site will be built with Ruby on Rails. I have two years of experience working with Rails. Also I have more than 5 years of object-oriented programming experience.

Given that, how long will it take to complete the project? Is 14 weeks a reasonable timeframe?

If you've worked with similar projects, I will love to hear your thoughts on it.

Kind Regards,

Thuva

l 0 l silver trophybronze trophy lo0ol's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Eventful (and similar sites) are pretty involved sites. It's hard to really give much feedback since there's still a matter of scope here (you could probably throw one together in a day, but you could also spend months doing one, too).

My suggestion is to break the project down. That helps you out a couple different ways: you get a better handle of what your timeframe should be overall, but secondly you really start understanding what specifically you're going to have to be attacking here. 37signals suggests the same thing:

http://gettingreal.37signals.com/ch0..._Your_Time.php

It's hard to just say "I want site x, now how long should I spend on it?" But if you break things down into smaller pieces it becomes easier to estimate, particularly since you have that prior Rails experience.

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    On top of everything lo0ol said, we have no idea how fast you work. With your 5 years of experience and 2 in Rails, you'll be the best judge of that. Actually you'll be the only judge of that.

SitePoint Guru silver trophy Luke Redpath's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)