SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard tgavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    1,051
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    run script on domain A, execute stuff in domain B

    I have a signup form that is secured with SSL on domain A. I would like for the user to fill out the form on A and then have it do some db stuff and create a new dir on domain B. It's my own cpanel server, so I have access to root.

    Is this possible?

  2. #2
    . shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,013
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sure, have a script in the domain A file system make a dir (mkdir) in domain B's file system. As well as connect to the database and add the data to the right table.

    Just to make it clear I said file system, like how you would make folders on windows except though script.
    Logic without the fatal effects.
    All code snippets are licensed under WTFPL.


  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard tgavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    1,051
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by logic_earth View Post
    Just to make it clear I said file system, like how you would make folders on windows except though script.
    I don't use Windows, I'm on OS X. So I'm not familiar with that.

  4. #4
    . shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,013
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Okay well how do you make folders on Mac...err well it doesn't really matter was just an example.
    Logic without the fatal effects.
    All code snippets are licensed under WTFPL.


  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    84
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    you can use the 'mkdir' on Mac OS X...making sure you place the path in of where you wish to make the directory. that should work.

    ie..mkdir(domainb/parentdir/childdir) etc.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard tgavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    1,051
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You don't create a folder on the Mac in the terminal or file system. Unless you're a total geek

    I have the working scripts in place to do everything I want. The problem arises with permissions.

    A can't create a dir in B. So when I asked if this was possible, security and permissions were more of what I had in mind. These are the issues I'm having trouble with.

    Sorry if I confused anybody.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Evangelist superuser2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    598
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hmmm... could you call curl or wget to a script residing in the other domain that would handle filesystem stuff?

    Take a look at the php file system functions: http://us.php.net/manual/en/ref.filesystem.php

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard tgavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    1,051
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've decided this is going to be too much of a pain. I'm just going to do everything from B instead.

    Thanks for your help.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •