SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Thread: my first site

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

my first site

I am redoing the website for my kids' school. This is my first large scale project. Actually, it's my first project that doesn't involve putting vacation pictures up on my website.

The graphics on the left sidebar and the photos in the header are not the final versions. Hopefully, the IT guy will be able to find me better ones.

http://www.ejgejg.com/fa/default.html

Thanks!

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I agree with your comment about the pictures. They are definately not the original source files.

I did notice going through the site that the banner section is removed and the navigation becomes split between the top and bottom (sort of confusing) If you were able to, I would suggest moving the navigation (because there are so many links (to the left hand side (blue section with the pictures you dont like) Then they are always grouped together and you do not have to split them. Similar to other ares of the website where you have removed the pictures and added a third navigation. (it can tend to get confusing figuring out where to go...top, bottom or left hand side)

In the information section. The first telephone number need to have a space after the area code.

Links to outside websites should open in a new window (personal preference) or the visitor may not be able to get back to your site without hitting the back button or if they close the window, they will have to reopen a browser

There is a lot of information within the website, my only concern would be the user trying to access it without becoming confused or frustrated. (this goes back to the navigation)

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Agree best to keep the navigation all together if possible, the nav at the bottom of the page will definitely get missed, so move it up to the top / left.