SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    What the hell is wrong with IE?

    I have the following code

    HTML Code:
    <html>
    <body bgcolor=C5C5C5>
    <TABLE WIDTH=540 BORDER=0 CELLPADDING=0 CELLSPACING=0>
    	<TR>
    		<TD>
    			<IMG SRC="../images/content_01.jpg" WIDTH=8 HEIGHT=18 ALT=""></TD>
    		<TD>
    			<IMG SRC="../images/content_02.jpg" WIDTH=13 HEIGHT=18 ALT=""></TD>
    		<TD HEIGHT=18 WIDTH=511 bgcolor=5C8394><font class=titel><b><?php echo "test";?>
    			</TD>
    		<TD>
    			<IMG SRC="../images/content_04.jpg" WIDTH=8 HEIGHT=18 ALT=""></TD>
    	</TR>
    	<TR>
    		<TD COLSPAN=4 bgcolor=7297A6>
    <table width=98&#37;><tr><td align=left>
    <font class=text>
    • Overal processierupsen ...
    Binnen blijven en studeren lijkt wel de boodschap want de processierups is aan een opmars bezig. Omdat er toch weinig ander nieuws te melden valt beschrijven we deze rups even. Ze ziet er aaibaar uit maar dat is niet het minste de bedoeling. De haartje ...
    • WOOB : succes !
    • WOOB - een nieuw jeugdhuis in B...
    • Rock@Edegem '07 : compleet
    • Mini Rock te Niel - 26 mei
    </td></tr></table>
    			</TD>
    	</TR>
    	<TR>
    		<TD>
    			<IMG SRC="../images/content_06.jpg" WIDTH=8 HEIGHT=8 ALT=""></TD>
    		<TD COLSPAN=2 WIDTH=524 HEIGHT=8 bgcolor=7297A6>
    			</TD>
    		<TD>
    			<IMG SRC="../images/content_08.jpg" WIDTH=8 HEIGHT=8 ALT=""></TD>
    	</TR>
    </TABLE>
    Don&#180;t mind the missing head, body,...
    Focus on the tables.

    When I view this with firefox or opera I see it as it should be.
    However, in IE it doesn&#180;t look fine.

    Example:



    Any idea what is causing my problem in IE and how to solve it?
    Last edited by dreamingdesigner; Jun 11, 2007 at 11:23.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Zealot Enzyme Online's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    182
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I can't look at the tables
    they burn my eyes
    Now up and running!
    Enzyme Online | Professional and Affordable Web Design

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast FSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    San Martin de los Andes, Patagonia Argentina
    Posts
    93
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I put on my welder mask and was finally able to look at your tables...
    I don't mean to be rude but you got errors all over in your code. Though some of them might have nothing to do with your problem (which we don't know what it is).

    Let me break this down:

    - hex color code without #.
    - Uppercase element tags.
    - Attribute values not quoted.
    - Elements left unclosed (font).

    All in all you're using deprecated and messy code. Build a big site like this and you'll end up with a maintenance nightmare and inconsistent css behavior.

    I can only speculate on what your problem is, but if you're just breaking that image due to file size and are getting unwanted gaps try using border-collapse: collapse or just throw in one single image... how large can it be? This, considering you decide to stick to tables-for-layout.

    I don't know, I could go on rambling... Tell us more about your precise problem and I'll see what I can do.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot Enzyme Online's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    182
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by FSan View Post
    - Uppercase element tags.
    I don't do this but I don't think this affects anything?
    let me know if I'm wrong
    Now up and running!
    Enzyme Online | Professional and Affordable Web Design

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I&#180;m not trying to split the image for file size. The text "test" is generated by php and so is the main content. Therefore I took out the image and placed the background color tag.

    Updated hex color, uppercase,... still the same problem.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast FSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    San Martin de los Andes, Patagonia Argentina
    Posts
    93
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Like I said in my post, some of the so-called errors I mentioned might have nothing to do with your problem, like the uppercase tags. I was mostly pointing out that we'd be trying to fix something that is generally badly approached imho. Probably just "doing things right" would fix the problem by default...

    dreamdesigner, did you make sure all your attribute values are quoted and element tags properly closed?

    I assume content_02.jpg is the arrow thing and the other two are spacers (...?). Why not use one single td and remove the colspan?

    Let me know

    PS: I still strongly recommend you switch to html+css+NO tables-for layout

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard drhowarddrfine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3,438
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You also need a proper doctype to get IE to pretend to act like a modern browser. See my link below. Use html4.01 strict.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A had a look it and it seems the width tags arent read correct by IE. And this for the parts that have the backcolor attribute. I donīt know why.

    For a try I increased the width from 511 to 2500(?!) and you know what? It looked allright.

    And yeah, I should get into divīs instead of table but Iīm an old guy stuck in a bad habbit

  9. #9
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    qlWebDirectoryScript.com
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My two cents. I am using Taco to build my tables because there is an option to review you existing mistakes. It have worked for me in the past. This solution is not a perfect one but offers first step to resolving exisitng problems.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast FSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    San Martin de los Andes, Patagonia Argentina
    Posts
    93
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dreamingdesigner View Post
    A had a look it and it seems the width tags arent read correct by IE. And this for the parts that have the backcolor attribute. I donīt know why.

    For a try I increased the width from 511 to 2500(?!) and you know what? It looked allright.

    And yeah, I should get into divīs instead of table but Iīm an old guy stuck in a bad habbit
    Mmmmm sorry man. That's bad over bad over bad...
    Did you even try using an appropriate dtd like drhowarddrfine said? That could fix the ie issue...

    And you wouldn't even need to use divs to accomplish this layout. You could just use h1 (or whatever h... corresponds to your heading structure) and p, for example. Then add a background image to the h1 and tweak margins, paddings and widths to suit your needs.

    Ok. Good luck

  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy Nadia P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NSW Australia
    Posts
    3,564
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It really is difficult to help if we can't see *all* the code for the page. With that type of code, it could be anything causing the problem.

    Nadia


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •