SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

HAHA!
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question Bad bot trap logic and implementation

I understand the logic of this bad bot trap and need to implement it on one of my sites. I am a php noob and the site is currently .html

I will convert all pages to php to start off. So the question I have is this: Logically, would I not have to include both the blacklist.php and the bot trap link on every single page to catch malicious bots? As bots could come in from external links it would seem logical to catch them as soon as they enter the page and/or have their id checked by the blacklist.php?
    Cheap web hosting directory listing the cheapest web hosting

Submit articles to an article directory

✯✯✯ silver trophybronze trophy php_daemon's Avatar
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Probably yes. Why not use the .htaccess way and put a protection on the entire domain in one place, though?
    Saul

Follow Me On Twitter: @djg gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Grossman's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Hostpitable View Post
    I understand the logic of this bad bot trap and need to implement it on one of my sites. I am a php noob and the site is currently .html

I will convert all pages to php to start off. So the question I have is this: Logically, would I not have to include both the blacklist.php and the bot trap link on every single page to catch malicious bots? As bots could come in from external links it would seem logical to catch them as soon as they enter the page and/or have their id checked by the blacklist.php?