SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I know a lot of us have encountered Netscape and IE problems. Making it work in both browser is a real problem. Is there some websites out there wherein i could find the best resources about this problem. Right now im just being forced to love netscape, please help.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Guru CJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mechelen, Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    684
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can check out these websites to see what each browser supports:

    - http://www.microsoft.com/ie
    - http://netscape.com
    - http://www.mozilla.org
    - http://www.w3c.org

    I would recommend not to use too much nested tables because NS doesn't seem to like them...

    Christophe

  3. #3
    Fluffy Kitten Programmer~ Elledan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,356
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No matter what you do to avoid compatibility problems, always check the design in both IE and NS (and Mozilla, Opera and others if you want).

    You'll just see that you get an error in one the browsers when you least expect one

    BTW I use masses of nested tables and I've never real problems in NS...

    Good luck!
    www.nyanko.ws - My web-, software- and game development company.
    www.mayaposch.com - My personal site and blog.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Guru CJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mechelen, Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    684
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    you were just lucky Elledan :-)

    NS has a lot of problems if it comes to rendering tables.

    Christophe

  5. #5
    Misfit
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    2,266
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Netscape has problems with tables and problems with CSS. The CSS problem is being fixed as we speak (it already has a little in version 6). The tables problem can be EASILY fixed if you have something in ever table cell, whether it be a space ( ) or a hidden font character, whatever...

  6. #6
    Don't get too close, I bite! Nicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    8,277
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Browsers

    Also try AMAYA by the W3C. It is very strict and follows the DTD really closely.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Guru CJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mechelen, Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    684
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you code by the rules of W3C your sites will end up looking like those pages made in 95 and last updated in 96 sites

    Christophe

  8. #8
    Misfit
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    2,266
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Why's that? People could easily follow the W3C rules and still make their site look the same. No problem...

  9. #9
    Fluffy Kitten Programmer~ Elledan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,356
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The W3C site is updated lately and lookes MUCH better
    www.nyanko.ws - My web-, software- and game development company.
    www.mayaposch.com - My personal site and blog.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Guru CJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mechelen, Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    684
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Cool

    OK... FP makes code which is compatible with all browsers, still the code isn't the W3C norm. Some crap thing about the alt tag and TR - TD tags...

    Christophe

    ps: the current w3c site still looks plain ugly.


  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Karl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    4,411
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sites that stick to the standards can look very very nice, I know myself and some of my clients have done some nice looking sites that follow the strict DTDs for HTML4, HTML4.01 and XHTML. The only problem was that as netscape didn't follow the standards as you would expect we had to break a couple of the rules to get it to look exactly the same in netscape.

    Which brings me on to the subject of XML, if you use XML you can server your page up with the correct HTML to the correct browser e.g. A WML site for WAP devices, normal HTML for desktops, slimmed down HTML for PDAs etc.
    Karl Austin :: Profile :: KDA Web Services Ltd.
    Business Web Hosting :: Managed Dedicated Hosting
    Call 0800 542 9764 today and ask how we can help your business grow.

  12. #12
    SitePoint Addict smcausland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Victoria, BC, Canada
    Posts
    233
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Speaking of tables in netscape and IE. I am redoing one of my sites, switching it all over to be handcoded rather than done with FP and can't get the tables to look the same in IE and Netscape. IE renders that tables the way I want but netscape adds a bunch of extra white space to my nested table that makes up my navigation menu on the left hand side of the page. Does anyone have suggestions to fix this?

  13. #13
    Idea Developer
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Bethlehem, PA
    Posts
    521
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    just use 4.0 standards, not the microsoft stuff. Also frontpage is horrible with netscape support.
    Professional PHP programing / Hosting
    aim: downtoi3iz icq: 74637813

  14. #14
    SitePoint Addict smcausland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Victoria, BC, Canada
    Posts
    233
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What it ended up being was that netscape makes a say 18 wide text area bigger then MS does so I had to drop the displayed size of the text box to make the table appear properly

    Steve C. McAusland

  15. #15
    SitePoint Wizard edshuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    1,198
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hi

    i normally post on the php things. but these threads are on areas vital to my site, and i have had to learn and still am learning through my many mistakes.

    i wanted to run a map from yahoo on my site to give a neighborhood reference to businesses. yahoo was ok with it as long as i did not modify their button.

    i got the map to running fine on my site when seen from my pc (98/2, ie (latest)). about 2 days later, i tried it on another machine pc, nt40, ie and it failed. i hurried home and tried it. it worked.

    after some investigation, and a ? to the php forum, i found that my machine was stuffing in some + signs in the address and that the nt40 was not. (my daughters mac also acted the same as the nt40). so i worked the problem and now it is fine. but the view from other platforms is now a priority for me.

    for me the rule is - get as many views as i can.

    peace ed


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •