SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question http://localhost/ 404 error??

    I just went through the first couple of steps in Kev's Build your own Database Driven Web Site Tutorial only to find when I went to test my first PHP files I get the 404 page not found error.

    I am using XP (IIS 5) and php 4.

    I can access my FTP folder from IE, but nothing in the wwwroot.

    HELP!

  2. #2
    SitePoint Guru siphilp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Fife, Scotland
    Posts
    663
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I haven't looked at the book, as I am not paying to get it shipped over here.
    Anyway. Are you sure that your Apache Server is running?


    Si

  3. #3
    We like music. weirdbeardmt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Channel Islands Girth: Footlong
    Posts
    5,882
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    -- Have you named your files .php (make sure they haven't turned out as .php.txt or something) ?

    -- can you get anything to load up? Even a simple test page or phpinfo?

    Si, Apache won't be running because he is using IIS. And shipping for the book should be exactly the same regardless of where you are (unless you have to pay extra to get it to FIfe, which I doubt!?).
    I swear to drunk I'm not God.
    Matt's debating is not a crime
    Hint: Don't buy a stupid dwarf Clicky

  4. #4
    SitePoint Guru siphilp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Fife, Scotland
    Posts
    663
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well you see i can run apache on my XP box and without running it then my php pages won't run. Then again i hardly use php anyway so maybe i haven't installed it right?

    (unless you have to pay extra to get it to FIfe, which I doubt!?).
    Nasty

    Am not going into a debate LOL.


    Si
    Last edited by siphilp; Feb 5, 2002 at 06:54.

  5. #5
    We like music. weirdbeardmt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Channel Islands Girth: Footlong
    Posts
    5,882
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by siphilp
    Well you see i can run apache on my XP box and without running it then my php pages won't run. Then again i hardly use php anyway so maybe i haven't installed it right?
    Yep... I may be wrong, but you can use either IIS or Apache... so the fact you use Apache is not surprising.. as it is certainly the preferred choice (and what I use).



    Nasty

    Am not going into a debate LOL.
    No worries, just wanted to check you were aware! Case closed
    I swear to drunk I'm not God.
    Matt's debating is not a crime
    Hint: Don't buy a stupid dwarf Clicky

  6. #6
    SitePoint Guru siphilp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Fife, Scotland
    Posts
    663
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That would make an interesting Thread...Installing PHP on XP etc, and using IIS or Apache to run your pages.

    Or is this already been done?

    Si


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •