SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Loading large CSV Files - Good Design Principles ?

Hello,

I need to write a function that processes a large csv file (1,000,000 lines +) and I was wondering if there are any good design principles (and hopefully examples) of loading large CSV files without consuming vast amounts of CPU and memory.
    The design principles can of course be above the implementation language. I just posted here because I am a php developer.

Cheers

Marc

Follow Me On Twitter: @djg gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Grossman's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just read a few lines at a time. You can sleep() if you need to add some artificial delay between processing some number of lines.

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Dan Grossman View Post
    Just read a few lines at a time. You can sleep() if you need to add some artificial delay between processing some number of lines.
    Thank you Dan,

I was also think about having some calculation where the code gets the number of lines (does as count) and then by some sort of math processes the contents in chunks and sleeps amybe a few seconds in between the chunks to allow the server to process other requests since the server which this code is running on will also process other HTTP requests.

I am not good at math so if anyone knows the best way to create the amount of chunks (number of records to be processed between sleeps) based on the total rows of a csv file - that would be great!

Cheers

marc

Follow Me On Twitter: @djg gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Grossman's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)