SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    439
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    css and <select>

    hi there,
    I have applied some CSS to my form elements, but was wondering if there is any way to change the borders and everything else on the <select> box, because it is not responding to the CSS I am using for my other form elements.....

    THanx

  2. #2
    Typo Negative brokenvoice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    227
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There isn't much you can do with SELECT elements besides changing the font, size, colour and background colour. I think it's because they are more closely tied in with the OS than normal textboxes. That's a guess, but it's the only reason I have been able to come up with.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard Bill Posters's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,523
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No, you can change the borders on <select> menus.

    border-style:0; border:0px

    These two combined appear to remove the border as at Holodeck73 (http://www.h73.com).

    I'm not sure what border-style:0 actually does in itself.

    More info...? Anyone?

    I'm not sure if border-color:#CCCCCC will have any effect on <select> menus, but there's no harm in trying (though you probably already have)

    New Plastic Arts: Visual Communication | DesignateOnline

    Mate went to NY and all he got me was this lousy signature

  4. #4
    Typo Negative brokenvoice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    227
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Bill, the select box still has borders (at least in IE6), but the text boxes are border-less.

    I have a screenshot to atttach but that doesn't seem to be working.

    Nice Grange Hill quote BTW.
    Last edited by brokenvoice; Jan 24, 2002 at 10:19.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard Bill Posters's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,523
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am not sure if I am misunderstanding what it is exactly that mvd is referring to.

    Is it the initial pop-up menu 'input button'?

    Or the on-screen <option> list it produces?


    If it's the pop-up menu button then that can have its borders removed.
    Take a peek at http://www.computerlove.co.uk/demo/dstrukt/

    This has both a coloured/bordered pop-up menu and 2 coloured/unbordered pop-up menus.
    The borderless ones have the outermost 2 pixels off/transparent. (ie, not simply coloured the same as the bg)

    The <option> list (that they produce) still have the 'bevelled' edges and I have no idea if they can be effected with Stylesheets.

    I am now not sure which of these two things we are talking about

    Incidentally, fwiw, I am viewing with Mac/IE5.1


    p.s. broken voice. Thanks, you spotter, you.
    New Plastic Arts: Visual Communication | DesignateOnline

    Mate went to NY and all he got me was this lousy signature

  6. #6
    .net install meltdown
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    View Ridge
    Posts
    692
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm seeing borders on all three dropdowns. I don't think you can change the borders in dropdowns w/CSS.

    This is the style declaration for the dropdowns:

    .formstyles { font-family: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: 9px; color: #333333; text-decoration: none; background-color: #C0BAAD}

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard Bill Posters's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,523
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Isotope, which browser are you visiting the site with?

    I'm visiting the site with IE5.1/Mac and I am definately getting 1 with plus 2 without.

    The second and third menus also have this in the <select> tag...

    style="background-color:#C0BAAD; border-style:0; border:0px; font-size: 9px; color: #333333; font-family: Verdana,Geneva,Arial,Helvetica," class="formstyles">

    I have attached an img to this post (screenshot details) but it may take a while till it's passed by the moderators and made visible
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Bill Posters; Jan 24, 2002 at 18:45.
    New Plastic Arts: Visual Communication | DesignateOnline

    Mate went to NY and all he got me was this lousy signature

  8. #8
    .net install meltdown
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    View Ridge
    Posts
    692
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    IE 5.5/win. Looking forward to the screenshot (mods?), sounds like it might be an IE/mac thing?

  9. #9
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    439
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    actually,
    when I viewed my site through a mac the <select> was
    perfect and just as I wanted....unfortunately, it is
    different through my PC


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •