SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Wizard
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

RSS Feeds & Wordpress

I am new to blogging. I just figured I'd set one up as a little hobby. I've got WordPress (latest version released a few days ago) installed. I noticed blog engines coming to mysite.com/feed, so I checked out that URL. Turns out that the ENTIRE content of my posts are in the feed.

Do RSS Feeds enable people to get your entire content without having to visit your site? If so, why would anyone want to make it possible for people to not visit their site?

I'm going to have to something because there is no way I'm going to allow people to read my content without coming to my site. Unless I'm wrong about something...

Thoughts?

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can have teasers (WP calls it excerpts) inserted into your RSS feeds, not the entire post content.

When composing an entry, check Optional Excerpt block. Then, check this: Options >> Reading >> Syndication Feeds, For each articles show: Summary. This will put excerpts into RSS feeds.

SitePoint Wizard
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    OK, thanks for the info. I made the change in WordPress.

Is there a way to specify the number of characters or paragraphs of a post to allow in an RSS feed?

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hmm... I'm not sure about that. But you can compose as short or as long excerpt as you wish.

Follow Me On Twitter: @djg gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Grossman's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by cheesedude View Post
    I'm going to have to something because there is no way I'm going to allow people to read my content without coming to my site. Unless I'm wrong about something...

Thoughts?