SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

New to PHP and MySQL:: Calling all pro's!!!

I am a fairly decent web designer/developer, and am looking to expand my horizons by adding PHP and MySQL to my resume.

The company that hosts my site supports both, and I am getting ready to start playing around with some scripts in the book that I have (Welling and Thomson// PHP and MySQL: Web Development).

I have been led to believe that I will have to upload most of my work onto the server to be able to view it in action.

So, with that said, how can I turn my laptop computer into a server, so that I can view my work. If there is some better way, or common method implemented when creating these works, please... spill your guts!

Thanks,
    //Sity

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There'er so many methods to turn your pc into a server

First,you can use iis(internet information server),install it,than you will download php4 software
    and mysql software.......install them......Use your control panel-->admintools--->iis to set isapi,Copt the php.ini_dist file into windows folder ,rename it to php.ini. copy the php.exe into the folder too.
    then restart mysql,restart iis,restart computer.....Then copy yout webs into c:/inetpub/wwwroot then you can view your work by ie
    Http://localhost/*.php (your file)

It is not very particular ,Because my english is really
    poor

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    <freakyedit>please refrain from posting drivel in this forum</freakyeidt>

- post moderated by freakysid.

********* Callithumpian silver trophy freakysid's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi - the phpdev bundle from www.firepages.com.au will get you started. It installs a complete web dev environment on your PC which includes apache, php, mysql, perl (I think).

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged