SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    166
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    refering to ajax loaded page

    Hi,

    How can I refer to inputs ina a page loaded by ajax in a div from parent and vice versa?
    I already tred parent.form.element and also opener.form.element with no luck..

  2. #2
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    813
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    once you are done with copying the ajax loaded content to some div, you can start refering to certain DOM object.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    166
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by SimplyFu View Post
    once you are done with copying the ajax loaded content to some div, you can start refering to certain DOM object.
    Im loading the page inside a div, but I want to have access to the server side code variables on it. So I place them inside inputs (in the loaded file) and now, from parent im trying to reach them with no sucess by GetElementByID("inputid").
    How should I refer to it?

  4. #4
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    813
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, you can't access variable from server side. Maybe you can do something like :

    e.g. in PHP
    echo "<script>var myvar = ".$myvar_value."</script>";
    then you can access myvar in your javascript application.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    166
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So there's no way to refer to inputs on the loaded page from parent?

  6. #6
    CSS & JS/DOM Adept bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,482
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are you using innerHTML?
    We miss you, Dan Schulz.
    Learn CSS. | X/HTML Validator | CSS validator
    Dynamic Site Solutions
    Code for Firefox, Chrome, Safari, & Opera, then add fixes for IE, not vice versa.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    166
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Kravvitz View Post
    Are you using innerHTML?
    Yes, and using post to open the page.

  8. #8
    CSS & JS/DOM Adept bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,482
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ah. That's probably your problem. innerHTML is a non-standard property. It doesn't always play nice. Be very careful how you use it. I suggest you read this: HTML text as JS string

    These links are included in that thread but I'll include them here too:
    DOM Scripting: The innerHTML dilemma
    InnerHTML is Evil
    We miss you, Dan Schulz.
    Learn CSS. | X/HTML Validator | CSS validator
    Dynamic Site Solutions
    Code for Firefox, Chrome, Safari, & Opera, then add fixes for IE, not vice versa.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •