SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Email injection (again)

I have read the key entries on this subject and, being a newbie, I have to say that I am rather confused. A lot of the replies assume a level of knowledge that I do not have. My flash form is very simple - it only has three fields, so the php script is equally basic. What I need to know is where to perform the validation - in the fla or on the server-side. The chunks of code in the replies in the forums should go in the script or in the fla? Presumably in the server-side script, but how do they get called? You can see that I am struggling. I am going to keep searching, but if anybody could point me to a noddy guide for validation with the appropriate scripts (and where they should go!) that would sure be appreciated.

All the best

Peter_02

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Whenever I write a form, I validate it both client side and server side.

It is a good idea to validate forms client side, just with simple checks, eg all the required fields are filled in etc - just to improve the users experience - its better to be told straight away that a form needs to be filled in, rather than waiting for a form to process, and then being told.

Server side is where the proper processing takes place however.

I can't help you with flash validation, as I don't know flash at all, however, PHP validation I can!

In a simple three field script, really all you need to do is check that:[*] All the fields are completed[*] The e-mail address is valid[*] Any other specific fields are valid (ages are just numbers etc.)