SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Help needed for OOP Newbie

I am a newbie to OOP having been coding in PHP4 procedural approach. I have been given a project in my office to develop a web based staff appraisal application and I have chosen to use OOP. I have read some books and I think I understand some basic concepts of OOP. I really need some help in the design of this project along OOP lines.

The flow is simply this; A subordinate, logs on to the application, his ID fetches his personal info from the database (name, location, dept, etc) he enters further information and submits the form. On submission, his supervisor recieved an email notifying him of a pending appraisal. The supervisor logs in and calls up the staff profile. He inputs his rating, adds his comments and submits. An email is sent back to the subordinate who must agree or disagree with the supervisor input, once this is done, the appraisal goes to the dept head who adds a comment before sending it to either a higher person or the Human resources department, if no one is higher up in that department.

I am thinking of the following classes;

Appraisee Class
    Supervisor class
    DB class
    Email Class

I am having a problem with being able to define the attributes and methods of the classes and whether these classes are even adequate based on what I have described above

I will really appreciate anyone who can give me ideas to help

Thank you

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, it looks like you have good idea about what classes you should include in this project. I would start making an outline of all the classes, this way you'll see if you have all the needed classes and methods.