SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Hybrid View

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Making random JavaScript redirecter play nice with non-JavaScript-enabled browsers

The index page of the site I'm working on has three different versions, and Management (truly a proper noun, in this case) wants one version displayed 50% of the time, and the second and third versions each displayed 25% of the time. It needs to be done with JavaScript, which makes me really sad; I know it'd be simple, elegant, and easy with PHP, and we'd get to avoid pesky browser bugs and people with JavaScript disabled. Without any chance of using server-side scripting, we're doomed to the client. Oh well.

Since I want the index page to work with JavaScript disabled, I devised the following code. (The JavaScript may not be the most beautiful thing ever, but I'm a programming newbie and it was the best I could do. I'm sort of proud of it. )

Code:
    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
    <html lang="en">
    <head>
    	<title>...</title>
    	<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">	
    	<link href="style.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css">
    	<script type="text/JavaScript">
    	<!--
    	// create random number: 1, 2, 3, or 4
    	var random_number = (Math.ceil(Math.random() * 4));

// loads page depending on random_number's outcome, without breaking back button
    	switch(random_number) {
    		case 1:
    			window.location.replace("page1.html");
    			break;
    		case 2:
    			window.location.replace("page1.html");
    			break;		
    		case 3:
    			window.location.replace("page2.html");
    			break;
    		case 4:
    			window.location.replace("page3.html");
    			break;
    		}				
    	// -->
    	</script>
    </head>
    <body>
    <noscript>
    	<!-- all HTML between body tags in original page1.html file,