SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Wizard
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

confusion between framework v. IDE v. templating

I have been coding apps with PHP for several years. But I am getting more involved in larger and more complicated PHP applications and want to use best practices.

I use Eclipse's PHP IDE. I doubt I am using it to its full extent but I want to learn more about, and compare and contrast, frameworks versus IDE versus templating systems.

I know technically the IDE is the tool in which you code but there are frameworks associated with IDE - for example the PHP IDE for Eclipse.

Can you use a any framework within any templating system?

I want to learn now what is going to save time later.

Please help straighten me out. Many thanks!

. shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A framework is as defined by wikipedia:
    In software development, a Framework is a defined support structure in which another software project can be organized and developed. Typically, a framework may include support programs, code libraries and a scripting language amongst other software to help develop and glue together the different components of your project.

So basicly it is a library of reuseable code.

An IDE,
    Integrated Development Environment is just where you code.

Templeting is separation of business logic from presentation.
    Logic without the fatal effects.
    All code snippets are licensed under WTFPL.

SitePoint Wizard silver trophy kyberfabrikken's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)