Hybrid View

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question Looking for some guidance in starting with WordPress

Hello,

I currently use Blogger to keep a personal blog - just something that lets friends and family keep up with me while I'm studying at University.

What I want to do is switch software. I'm very comfortable with PHP/SQL and it seems Word Press is the overwhelming winner. I'm hoping some of you can point me in the right direction as far as learning how to customize it.

Here is what I want to do:
    1) Transform my blog into something more technically-oriented. Specifically, I will be posting more about PHP/mySQL programming, and providing code snippets, etc.

2) I want to be able to categorize each post into the appropriate area (I know this is available by default), but I also want to have a sort of "homepage" for each topic rather then just a list of all the posts tagged with that title. That is, I want a section for each (well, most) topics I post about and that section should have custom layout.

3) Any sites that you find you frequent when looking for new ideas when customizing word press.

Any help to guide me, especially with #2, would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
    Ryan Price
    Subscribe to my blog for regular tips and tricks

Bananas contain Zinc fonzerelli_79's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i use wordpress on a few site and know the software pretty well. drop me a pm with any questions and ill do my best to help

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Number 2 is actually very easy to implement.

By default, WP searches for the template file archives.php when presenting posts within a particular category (if it doesn't exist, WP will then use index.php). This is the file where you'll be doing customisations.