SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Web Design Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

HTML not valid because of Amazon Affiliate Links

Hi - I'm by no means an expert coder, but I try to do the best that I can in validating everything and making things correct. But right now I've got (homepage only - haven't checked other pages) 21 Errors

Looks to me like 20 of these errors are because of the three Amazon Affiliate Link code in the sidebar of my site. What can I do (if anything) to fix these? I'm not real clear on what the validator is even telling me.

The first error (Line 121 column 4: end tag for "ul" which is not finished.) I'm not sure where that is coming from either. I've looked over the code as best I could and can't find an <ul> tag which is unfinished.

If anyone has suggestions I'd appreciate it.
    Deron Sizemore
    ----------
    My Sites: LogoGala | Golf Ledger (coming soon)
    Twitter: Deron Sizemore

I meant that to happen silver trophybronze trophy Raffles's Avatar
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The UL error on line 121 is because the UL is empty. It must have <li>s in it (and nothing else), as the validator says in its second suggested possibility. The rest of the errors are all because you're using the ampersand & by itself and not using the correct entity &amp; in your URLs.

In PHP you can put the URL string through htmlspecialchars() before outputting it in order to fix that.

Web Design Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Raffles View Post
    The UL error on line 121 is because the UL is empty. It must have <li>s in it (and nothing else), as the validator says in its second suggested possibility. The rest of the errors are all because you're using the ampersand & by itself and not using the correct entity &amp; in your URLs.

In PHP you can put the URL string through htmlspecialchars() before outputting it in order to fix that.