SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

View Poll Results: Flash-acceptable or not?

Voters
43. You may not vote on this poll
  • Ohh, I love scaleable/cross-platform streaming Flash

8 18.60%
  • Not too bad I suppose, if done well

20 46.51%
  • Flash, pah... what a waste of bandwidth!

15 34.88%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

To Flash, or not to Flash...whats your opinion??

I am an avid Flash developer, and see it as a viable option for use in a-lot of websites, be it used in combination with HTML/etc, or just on it's own.

For instance, my site (which I'm still working on) is completely Flash generated. I realise that it's not always appropriate to do this, but for my market I think it's perfectly acceptable.

The question I put to you is... how acceptable do you find Flash usage if it is done well, and doesn't have a 10 minute preloader on the front end. Look at my site, it streams in with only a small introduction. The whole interface is only about 40k, and without the background image it's only about 22k!! All other content is pulled in on layers to keep it efficient (and some other stuff you wouldn't even realise!!).

Does Flash make you happy, or do you see it as the curse of the net... just thought it would be interesting to see how more 'developer' orientated people felt about this subject...
    Jonnya Freelance Creative
    UK Freelance designer and web developer
    Website | Portfolio | Photoshop Tips

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i think its a waste of bandwidth, i have never seen a good flash site with plenty of content that was quick and readable, and i dont visit sites just to see what cool effect the designer has figured out, i visit them for the content. portfolio sites and stuff like that in flash are okay, thats if i bother to wait for the proloader.

Wanna-be Apple nut silver trophy M. Johansson's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)