SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 122
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    78
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    How to bypass popup blockers ?

    Some of us display important content in popups..but all the popup-killers makes regular javascript popups useless...

    Are there any workarounds ?

    Like to link to the popup with a regular link to a new window which has a js that makes that window resize, position and remove un-neccesary browser toolbars ?

    Any enlightment would be very appreciated

    John

  2. #2
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,235
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    If your link is activated onclick or via some other user-initiated action, it should not be blocked by a popup blocker.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    78
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    really ? I was under the impression that it killed some of the user initiated poups too, cause I see many sites who ask people to turn off popupkillers.

    If the poup is initiated from java aplett, quicktime or flash is it then concidered user initiated ?

    John

  4. #4
    Non-Member DaveMichaels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    US
    Posts
    535
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There are workarounds - like the code Sitepoint uses to popup its subscribe box.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    78
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thx Dave, gotta check it out....I`m newbee here...where may i find the subscribe feature / code ??

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard maartenvr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,679
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveMichaels
    There are workarounds - like the code Sitepoint uses to popup its subscribe box.
    For me the SP pop-ups get blocked! IE blocks it and if they don't get it my Google toolbar does! I don't think I have seen one pop-up since the new service pack in Win XP!! I am VERY happy about that!
    Maarten

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    3,537
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Some of us display important content in popups...
    Users disagree with you on that. Users do not want any popups, so maybe you should try to accomodate them to get better results. I use FF1.0 and I rarely get any popups, and I couldn't be happier. I don't care if your site wants to show me a map to a sunken Gallion with 10,000 gold coins in its cargo hold--if it's in a popup, I don't want to see it.

    As an alternative, you could use popup divs: toggle between display:none and display: absolute. I'll gladly take a look at your treasure map then.

  8. #8
    Non-Member DaveMichaels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    US
    Posts
    535
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by 7stud
    Users disagree with you on that. Users do not want any popups, so maybe you should try to accomodate them to get better results. I use FF1.0 and I rarely get any popups, and I couldn't be happier. I don't care if your site wants to show me a map to a sunken Gallion with 10,000 gold coins in its cargo hold--if it's in a popup, I don't want to see it.

    As an alternative, you could use popup divs: toggle between display:none and display: absolute. I'll gladly take a look at your treasure map then.
    So users want popup divs?

  9. #9
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    78
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote:
    Some of us display important content in popups...


    Users disagree with you on that. Users do not want any popups, so maybe you should try to accomodate them to get better results. I use FF1.0 and I rarely get any popups, and I couldn't be happier. I don't care if your site wants to show me a map to a sunken Gallion with 10,000 gold coins in its cargo hold--if it's in a popup, I don't want to see it.
    I make 360 virtual tours, and with nav, maps, text-content and a decent sized windows and both qtvr and java solution, theres not room to put it in the webpage itself. Must be a "inline" frame possibly. Popups are good when used correctly...just wanna make sure I present them without quirks and problems for my audience...

    Another point is that the tours must be easy to implement for a sites webmasters...and then a popup served from my server is the best solution...

    John

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    78
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    We may discuss pros and cons of popups but I`m wondering if there are safe solutions to make popups which are "wanted" display proper, whatever popupkiller the browser may have... ??

  11. #11
    I'll take mine raw silver trophy MikeFoster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Alabama, USA
    Posts
    2,560
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ahem...

    Quote Originally Posted by vgarcia
    If your link is activated onclick or via some other user-initiated action, it should not be blocked by a popup blocker.

  12. #12
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    78
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ahem ?

    I read "should" as not supposed to, not like "will not"....with a zillion different popup killers and people reporting that even regular links in new window being stopped , and it "should" not happen, so it may be reason to ask after all...or ??

    these problems are reported in some of the other threads in "Similar Threads"...

    John

  13. #13
    Free Geek computerages's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    1,071
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Jojn M
    Some of us display important content in popups..but all the popup-killers makes regular javascript popups useless...

    Are there any workarounds ?

    Like to link to the popup with a regular link to a new window which has a js that makes that window resize, position and remove un-neccesary browser toolbars ?

    Any enlightment would be very appreciated

    John
    here ya go

    http://phpbuddy.com/article.php?id=20

  14. #14
    I'll take mine raw silver trophy MikeFoster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Alabama, USA
    Posts
    2,560
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If I have popups completely disabled, why would you want to force one on me?

  15. #15
    I'll take mine raw silver trophy MikeFoster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Alabama, USA
    Posts
    2,560
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Besides, you can't force one on me, because I use Opera.

  16. #16
    Non-Member DaveMichaels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    US
    Posts
    535
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeFoster
    If I have popups completely disabled, why would you want to force one on me?
    Conversely, why would you force yourself on a site that uses popups to get revenue to pay for hosting, design, maintenance, etc.

  17. #17
    Floridiot joebert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Kenneth City, FL
    Posts
    823
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Use them as you normally would. EVERY decent popup blocker has the option to add a site to a trusted list. If you're popup is needed, inform the user that popups are a crucial part of the site & if your site is trust worthy then you have no problems.

    Also keep in mind, browsers like Firefox make it easy to disable resizing, turning off scrollbars, toolbars, address bars, status bars, ect.. so don't depend on being able to disable thoose things when designing.

  18. #18
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    78
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If I have popups completely disabled, why would you want to force one on me?
    Wont force anything on anybody, just wanna make the online experience as hassle free and usable as possible for anybodu who wants to see my content, regardless of their knowledge in configureing of their popupkillers...

    AND I wanna be able to answer a potential clients webdesigners questions regarding the popupkillers issue: Will everybody be able to see this content you wanna sell us ???

    John

  19. #19
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    78
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    computerages: thx for link

    Mike Foster: would it be possible to serve content of your dhtml popups ? ( checked your excellent site )

  20. #20
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,235
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveMichaels
    Conversely, why would you force yourself on a site that uses popups to get revenue to pay for hosting, design, maintenance, etc.
    Off Topic:

    Why wouldn't a webmaster find a better revenue source?

  21. #21
    I'll take mine raw silver trophy MikeFoster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Alabama, USA
    Posts
    2,560
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveMichaels
    Conversely, why would you force yourself on a site that uses popups to get revenue to pay for hosting, design, maintenance, etc.
    Well, you could make it so that visitors to your site don't get all the content unless they accept the popup.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jojn M
    would it be possible to serve content of your dhtml popups ?
    Oops, I'm busted! Yes, I've written a dhtml popup object.
    It's an iframe wrapped in a div - a simple idea really. Yes, you can serve content in it. But that object may not be exactly what you need, altho you could make use of the "iframe wrapped in a div" concept. Be aware that many browsers give the user control over iframes as well. So... I don't know if it would be worth the effort.
    Thanks

  22. #22
    I'll take mine raw silver trophy MikeFoster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Alabama, USA
    Posts
    2,560
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It should be noted again that 'Jojn M' is not talking about advertising

    DaveMichaels, I'm just havin a little fun with ya. I have advertising on my site too, so I do understand.

  23. #23
    Non-Member DaveMichaels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    US
    Posts
    535
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by vgarcia
    Off Topic:

    Why wouldn't a webmaster find a better revenue source?
    Such as?

  24. #24
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,235
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveMichaels
    Such as?
    Selling your own products, or at the very least, less obtrusive and annoying advertising.

  25. #25
    Non-Member DaveMichaels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    US
    Posts
    535
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by vgarcia
    Selling your own products, or at the very least, less obtrusive and annoying advertising.
    That equals the roughly $4 cpm of popups/unders?


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •