User Tag List

Hybrid View

SitePoint Evangelist adesignrsa's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Whats the Best CSS Book?

My brother is trying to learn CSS and asked me what the best book is on the language?

I have obviously looked through the sitepoint books, and I even have one on CSS (Dan Shafer's HTML Utopia), but my brother is on the other side of the planet from me, so he needs to buy one.

I'm asking people not to be biased and give their honest opinion on the best book for a beginner. We all love sitepoint, but if you feel that another book is better/easier to learn from, please do tell.

~R
    Ross Allchorn
    Web Consultant
    www.allchorn.com
    Twitter - @allchornr

SitePoint Wizard
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I found CSS Mastery by Andy Budd to be very good - got it as an Xmas pressie and have enjoyed it. Not a total beginner's book though, but almost any beginner's book would do if he immediately moved on to this one afterwards.

Perhaps coupled with the sitepoint Build your web site the right way using html & CSS as the beginner's book.

In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It depends, really. For me, it took a combination of CSS: The Definitive Guide (2nd Edition) by Eric Meyer, CSS Cookbook by Christopher Schmitt and HTML for the World Wide Web, Visual Quickstart Guide, 5th Edition, including XHTML and CSS by Elizabeth Castro (since updated). Designing with Web Standards by Jeffrey Zeldman (now in its second edition) helped immensely as well.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Dan Schulz View Post
    HTML for the World Wide Web, Visual Quickstart Guide, 5th Edition, including XHTML and CSS by Elizabeth Castro (since updated).