SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Passionate Web Developer Egyptechno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Dubai
    Posts
    259
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Exclamation [ Fetching Data from Yahoo Groups ] !

    Iam working nowdays on " categorized or indexed messages for a yahoo group "

    and still looking for the way I will follow to fetch messages from yahoo , I've been looking for while, and have seen some classes but not in PHP.

    I know I can have it done with modifying a Broswer-Emulator class, but Stil don't know the way exactly ..

    So, I hope anyone have some ideas ? or tried something like this before ?

  2. #2
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    191
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are you trying to 'scrape' yahoo's site for the messages, or do they have an api/rss feed you can use?

  3. #3
    Passionate Web Developer Egyptechno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Dubai
    Posts
    259
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    They don't have any api/rss for that kind of use ..

    All I want is to create another Archive of messages (that belong to a yahoo Group owned by my customer ) with a better features and better handling ..

    with other additional features too ..

    for example,
    if you have :
    - website called : www.example.com
    - yahoo group called : yahooExample

    I want here to show the number of members of yahooExample .. into the website www.example.com ..

    that's the idea simply ..
    I adore PHP

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    191
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, if I understand you correctly you need to access the information on yahoo's site and display it on your site. So you need to open their page, grab their information, and parse out the pieces you need?

    If this is what you mean then it is simple:

    Just use fopen() to open their url, save their html page to a string, then parse the string with preg_match(); or preg_match_all();

    If this is what you need to do and you still don't know how, I can be more specific and post code for you.

  5. #5
    Passionate Web Developer Egyptechno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Dubai
    Posts
    259
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    that's exactly what i want ..

    but not that way .. It's more complicated ..

    for example, I need to move files (messages attachments) from there to my server ..

    Also, you know you must be logged in to have access to Files or posts .. etc, so, that way would be useless

    I think I have to use Broswer Emulator .. but, need to figure out what iam going to do exactly ..

    and anyway .. graping information wouldn't be once .. it will be periodically, so, that way isn't depenedable for me ..

    apreciate your post .. ^_^
    I adore PHP

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard TheRedDevil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,198
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Read up on curl, it will allow your script to act and look like a normal web browser if desired


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •