SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru Ize's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    808
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Expand a Select element

    Hi,

    is it possible to expand a Select element via Javascript? (e.g. show the Option elements contained within it)

    I've tried theSelect.focus(); but that's not it...

    Any help would be appreciated

  2. #2
    CSS & JS/DOM Adept bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,482
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Unfortunately, the answer is "no".
    We miss you, Dan Schulz.
    Learn CSS. | X/HTML Validator | CSS validator
    Dynamic Site Solutions
    Code for Firefox, Chrome, Safari, & Opera, then add fixes for IE, not vice versa.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Guru Ize's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    808
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That sure is unfortunately... thank you for your answer
    I'll script some overly complicated "replace-list-of-options-with-div-element"-widget then

  4. #4
    CSS & JS/DOM Adept bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,482
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    We miss you, Dan Schulz.
    Learn CSS. | X/HTML Validator | CSS validator
    Dynamic Site Solutions
    Code for Firefox, Chrome, Safari, & Opera, then add fixes for IE, not vice versa.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Nelson BC
    Posts
    2,310
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Cheating:

    var sel = document.getElementById("mySelect");
    sel.size = sel.options.length;

  6. #6
    SitePoint Guru Ize's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    808
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Kravvitz View Post
    Thanks for those links, I will check them out
    Quote Originally Posted by jimfraser View Post
    Cheating:

    var sel = document.getElementById("mySelect");
    sel.size = sel.options.length;
    Yeah, I already found that solution, but it still involves a lot of tinkering, since, well, a "multiple-select" is just not a regular select.
    Thanks anyway for your response

  7. #7
    CSS & JS/DOM Adept bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,482
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You're welcome

    What does a select-multiple have to do with the size property?
    We miss you, Dan Schulz.
    Learn CSS. | X/HTML Validator | CSS validator
    Dynamic Site Solutions
    Code for Firefox, Chrome, Safari, & Opera, then add fixes for IE, not vice versa.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Guru Ize's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    808
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Kravvitz View Post
    You're welcome

    What does a select-multiple have to do with the size property?
    Not sure how it works exactly, but by applying the 'cheat' mentioned above, the select element gets converted, or at least looks like, a 'multiple' selectbox.

  9. #9
    CSS & JS/DOM Adept bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,482
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, that's the point, it allows the options to be seen. You have to change the multiple attribute/property to be able to select more than one though.
    We miss you, Dan Schulz.
    Learn CSS. | X/HTML Validator | CSS validator
    Dynamic Site Solutions
    Code for Firefox, Chrome, Safari, & Opera, then add fixes for IE, not vice versa.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •