User Tag List

Hybrid View

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

learning javascript

i want to learn javascript but have no experience handcoding it just using a little of it on my website. so is there any good books you might suggest?

I'll take mine raw silver trophy MikeFoster's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi dogdude16, Welcome to SPF!

There are good books available - but I'm not good at suggesting any. Check out SitePoint's books.

But if you want to learn Javascript, you've come to the right place. We are always glad to help people who want to learn . Feel free to ask any questions whatsoever.

Do you have experience with any other programming language?

I suggest you start browsing the Javascript Reference. Don't worry about memorizing it - don't try to make yourself learn - just browse the ref out of curiosity. Read more about things that catch your interest, read less about things that don't. Eventually you'll know the ref like the back of your hand

Copy and paste some of the examples from the ref and experiment with them. Just let us know of a certain language feature you're interested in and we'll provide a basic template which makes use of that feature, then you can experiment with it.

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks for linking to the reference, ill make sure to browse it. i do not have experience with any programming language. i have used some free javascripts before but not code them my self.

I'll take mine raw silver trophy MikeFoster's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here's a handy template. I don't use this for actual web pages (altho you could) but it is perfect for doing quick experiments on your local machine.
    Code:
    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN"
    "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/strict.dtd">
    <html>
    <head>