SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot XandroZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    147
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    .doc,.pdf in html

    Ho do I put a word .doc or a pdf file in a html or php page;in a div(layer)?

  2. #2
    Robert Wellock silver trophybronze trophy xhtmlcoder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    A Maze of Twisty Little Passages
    Posts
    6,316
    Mentioned
    60 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You don't; you use the <object> as they are not part of the HTML file.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ankh-Morpork
    Posts
    12,159
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can't do that and expect that it will work in all browsers. The browser must have the required plug-ins and be configured to run those plug-ins within the browser (rather than opening a separate window).
    Birnam wood is come to Dunsinane

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy C. Ankerstjerne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    The Kingdom of Denmark
    Posts
    2,692
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Plus, of course, while you can reasonably expect that most users will be able to read PDF-files, there will be quite a few people unable to read DOC-files.
    Christian Ankerstjerne
    <p<strong<abbr/HTML/ 4 teh win</>
    <>In Soviet Russia, website codes you!

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict dotancohen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Haifa
    Posts
    315
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If the document absolutely must be .doc then link to it. If you want to display it's contents in a webpage then you should export in as html. But if you use MS Office to export, then you will not get valid html so you must clean it up. I think that Amaya can do that.
    . Have a question?
    . . What Is Firefox?
    . . . . What Is Open Office?
    . . . . . . What Is What?

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy C. Ankerstjerne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    The Kingdom of Denmark
    Posts
    2,692
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Unless it's a very large DOC-document, it's usually easier to hand-code the new documents, and just copy-paste the text.
    Christian Ankerstjerne
    <p<strong<abbr/HTML/ 4 teh win</>
    <>In Soviet Russia, website codes you!

  7. #7
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ankh-Morpork
    Posts
    12,159
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I agree with Christian, but watch out for character encoding issues! The 'smart quotes' in Word are likely to trip you up if you use ISO 8859-1, UTF-8, etc. Dashes and ellipses are other potential problems.
    Birnam wood is come to Dunsinane

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy C. Ankerstjerne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    The Kingdom of Denmark
    Posts
    2,692
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've had some problems with that when converting various DOC-documents myself (not just the 'smart' quotes, but also since the documents I write use a lot of national characters), but search-replace takes care of that. I the past, I would be careful to escape each character while writing, but now, I just search-replace when I'm done writing. Much faster, and much more comfortable while writing (hitting the ampersand repeatedly in a sentence can be quite tiresome).
    Christian Ankerstjerne
    <p<strong<abbr/HTML/ 4 teh win</>
    <>In Soviet Russia, website codes you!

  9. #9
    SitePoint Addict dotancohen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Haifa
    Posts
    315
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by C. Ankerstjerne View Post
    I've had some problems with that when converting various DOC-documents myself (not just the 'smart' quotes, but also since the documents I write use a lot of national characters), but search-replace takes care of that. I the past, I would be careful to escape each character while writing, but now, I just search-replace when I'm done writing. Much faster, and much more comfortable while writing (hitting the ampersand repeatedly in a sentence can be quite tiresome).
    Do you have a macro for the search-replace? Could you post it?
    . Have a question?
    . . What Is Firefox?
    . . . . What Is Open Office?
    . . . . . . What Is What?

  10. #10
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy C. Ankerstjerne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    The Kingdom of Denmark
    Posts
    2,692
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I just use the build-in search-replace function in Notepad.
    Christian Ankerstjerne
    <p<strong<abbr/HTML/ 4 teh win</>
    <>In Soviet Russia, website codes you!

  11. #11
    SitePoint Addict dotancohen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Haifa
    Posts
    315
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    On which characters specifically? I've yet to need this, but I can see where adding it to my toolbox may come in handy someday.
    . Have a question?
    . . What Is Firefox?
    . . . . What Is Open Office?
    . . . . . . What Is What?


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •