SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

<C²: web standards /> cybercodeur's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question XML compares to databases?

I have read in an article on alistapart.com that XML would be better compared to Databases than to HTML. Though I've read the article twice, I still can't figure out why (probably because I know next to nothing to both XML and Databases). Can anyone explain me how it is so?

Please???
    Denis Boudreau <C²/> - Web Standards & Accessibility
    [+] ICQ number: 115649885 || Email: denis@cybercodeur.net
    [+] Daily Weblog on Web standards and accessibility : CYBERcodeur.net

Wanna-be Apple nut silver trophy M. Johansson's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Eeh... I'm not an expert on XML, but...

XML is not a storage device - it's a way of defining content. If you use it to store stuff (like databases do) it's practically the same thing as storing it in a text file.
    Mattias Johansson
    Short, Swedish, Web Developer

Buttons and Dog Tags with your custom design:
    FatStatement.com

The doctor is in... silver trophy MarcusJT's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    HTML and XML share a common ancestry - they are both subsets of SGML - but they have completely different purposes.

The point of XML is to provide a self-documenting, human-readable, cross-platform way of storing data (not presentation), and so it probably is best compared with databases. In contrast, the emphasis of modern HTML is on presentation, not data/content - although this is not how Tim Berners-Lee, creator of the WWW originally intended it to be used.

blah blah blah....I won't go on.....!!!

Read up here:
    http://www.w3.org/XML/1999/XML-in-10-points
    http://www.xml101.com

M@rco
    Last edited by M@rco; Jan 21, 2002 at 15:32.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)