SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Confusion using Zend Framework's Rewrite Router

I have been using the fantastic Zend Framework now for about 6 months and truly love it. A client recently approached me and requested that I design a web app for his company, and so I am in the process of doing so right now, but having a bit of difficulty.

The hosting company my client is using does not have mod_rewrite enabled, nor will they enable it. It is my understanding that the Zend_Controller_Router_Rewrite class will work in just such a situation, but I am confused as to how to impliment it's functionality.

For my own site, I use the:
    Code:
    http://example.com/controller/action/param_1/1/param_2/2/...
    url syntax and have really gotten used to it.

However, I don't believe I will be able to use this syntax without mod_rewrite and the ability to bootstrap /index.php.

I would really appreciate a little more of an explanation or at least a resource I can go to that will explain how to use Zend_Controller_Router_Rewrite in this situation. Of course, I have read over ZF's documentation on the subject, but I'm just not getting it.

For example: Where do I setup the routes? Do I set them up in /index.php? Instead of using the above url syntax, do I need to use a conventional query string, i.e.
    Code:
    http://example.com/index.php?controller=foo&action=bar&param_1=1...
    and then manually feed the controller/action to the router? If so how?

Thank you in advance for your help!
    Ducharme's Axiom: "If you view your problem closely
    enough, you will recognize yourself as part of the problem."

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can still use the 'pretty' url format, but you'd need to use the full url to the bootstrap, I think.
    Code:
    http://example.com/index.php/controller/action/param_1/1/param_2/2/...

SitePoint Wizard
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)