SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    405
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Running IE6 and IE7 on one machine?

    I was wondering if it is possible to run IE6 and IE7 on one windows machine without having to overwrite IE6?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Object Not Found junjun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    northern MI
    Posts
    1,392
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, it was covered in the Web Tech blog recently:
    http://www.sitepoint.com/blogs/2006/...rom-microsoft/

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast AnalogPanda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    sacramento, ca, usa
    Posts
    91
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    this seems to work great:

    http://tredosoft.com/Multiple_IE

  4. #4
    padawan silver trophybronze trophy markbrown4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    4,108
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    I install the full versions of the most current browsers and then
    get the earlier versions as 'stand-alone' browsers from the evolt browser archive

    Edit: Just readinging junjun's link...
    500 freaking megabytes..

    I have no problems with the stand-alone packages - the only thing to remember is that if you are using IE conditional comments - then you need to know that they all think they are the most current version installed on your computer.
    I only use conditionals for IE7 so this is fine for me - I deliver IE6< styles using the '* html' hack.

  5. #5
    CSS & JS/DOM Adept bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,482
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use both kinds myself, primarily because bookmarks (favorites) and by extension bookmarklets don't work in standalone versions of IE.

    Quote Originally Posted by markbrown4 View Post
    I have no problems with the stand-alone packages - the only thing to remember is that if you are using IE conditional comments - then you need to know that they all think they are the most current version installed on your computer.
    I only use conditionals for IE7 so this is fine for me - I deliver IE6< styles using the '* html' hack.
    There's a fix for that, Mark.
    We miss you, Dan Schulz.
    Learn CSS. | X/HTML Validator | CSS validator
    Dynamic Site Solutions
    Code for Firefox, Chrome, Safari, & Opera, then add fixes for IE, not vice versa.

  6. #6
    padawan silver trophybronze trophy markbrown4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    4,108
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Thanks for link Kravvitz, the cookies fix is especially useful

  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    153
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello
    I am not nearly as a sophisticated as the developers who have talked on this thread thus far. So I hope some kind soul would give me some help with this"Running IE6 and IE7 on one machine?" Stuff. I have followed the cascade of links this thread has produced concerning the subject. I have downloaded and installed "Internet Explorer 6 Application Compatibility VPC Image." Well there is obviously more steps to the process than just that. I do not see a virtual machine startup shortcut or any other way of starting virtual machine. Should I? I have also opened up the standalone link mentioned above and in that page of the link I see another link for IE 6. So I am assuming I have to use that link to IE 6 and somehow run my IE 6 on the virtual machine, but I do not know how to make this happen. So if someone here could tell me how to do this in explicit detail I would appreciate it very much. I am presently running IE 7 and do not know how to get my IE 6 back. I have rolled back to IE 6 when IE 7 was in the beta form but do not now know how to roll back to IE 6. So please tell me how to get this IE 6 and IE 7 thing going.

    Very sincerely
    Marc Miller

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy Nadia P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NSW Australia
    Posts
    3,564
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by AnalogPanda View Post
    this seems to work great:

    http://tredosoft.com/Multiple_IE
    That's what I used and it works well for me.

    Nadia

  9. #9
    I Never Give Up roosevelt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    515
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey thanks for the info on Multiple IE, didn't know it existed.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    153
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks - AnalogPanda and Nadia P that was amazingly easy! All I did was run it pick how many versions of IE I wanted to go back and then it installed the versions I checked off for me. And it used almost no hard drive space compared to running IE 6 the way mentioned on top of this thread.

    That's just great
    Marc

  11. #11
    SitePoint Enthusiast AnalogPanda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    sacramento, ca, usa
    Posts
    91
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Glad I could be of some help...
    markbrown4 mentioned above some concerns with the older versions of IE:
    they all think they are the most current version installed on your computer.
    Does anyone know if in MultipleIE (the link I posted above - tredosoft.com/Multiple_IE) the older versions think that they are the most current version or do they know what version they are? In other words, does IE6 know that it is IE6 (and not IE7) and thus handle conditional comments correctly?

    (I try to avoid conditional comments and multiple browser-specific stylesheets, so I haven't yet answered this question for myself)

  12. #12
    CSS & JS/DOM Adept bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,482
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by AnalogPanda View Post
    does IE6 know that it is IE6 (and not IE7) and thus handle conditional comments correctly?

    (I try to avoid conditional comments and multiple browser-specific stylesheets, so I haven't yet answered this question for myself)
    Read the article I linked to in my previous reply.
    We miss you, Dan Schulz.
    Learn CSS. | X/HTML Validator | CSS validator
    Dynamic Site Solutions
    Code for Firefox, Chrome, Safari, & Opera, then add fixes for IE, not vice versa.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •