SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Hi, I'm new here.

Hey, I am new to javascript so I would be asking questions here alot for the next few days. My goal is to create a few greasemonkey scripts so I hope I am in the right place. My first question, can javascript do the same thing you can do in html? I have firebug which I use to edit pages to where I would like to view them, but it seems easy to do that in html. How can I translate that to javascript so I can make those changes permanent?

BTW I am still doing some tutorials at:
    http://www.webteacher.com/javascript/
    http://www.w3schools.com/js/default.asp
    so I should be able to pick up more information when I am done with those.

Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mentioned
    196 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

javascript - html

Hi chrisdab, welcome to the forums,
    I don't understand exactly what you mean by "do"
    Quote Originally Posted by chrisdab
    can javascript do the same thing you can do in html
    If you are referring to editing js files, you should be able to set your system options to open them in the same text editor that is opening your html files. eg. I use notepad. Javascript is a scripting language and HTML is a mark-up language. Javascript can work with the Document Object Model (DOM) and can access and modify the rendered HTML.
    Quote Originally Posted by chrisdab
    translate that to javascript so I can make those changes permanent
    I wouldn't use javascript to make "permanent" HTML, but it's great for dynamic client-side effects.

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Aye I didnt mean permanent but just as a persistant script for greasemonkey to use on webpages. My goal for my first project is to move some html code around to make it more accessible on a webpage.

Lets take this code:

<form action="" method="post">