SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Exclamation Form Value Text Color Validation

Hi All,
    This is a tricky one.
    I'm also relatively new to javascript programming,so don't be-head me.

What I have right now is when someone hits submit,text appears next to the textarea that says..Please enter an email..That all works fine,but what I would like to do is have the value that I have in the textfield,that has a text style applied from my style sheet(now grey) to turn red,maybe if I made another style inside the CSS file which would be for red text.
    Would that be possible? to have one style in the css file,change to another with the javascript?
    Here's the validation part of my javascript code
    Code:
    //Show & Hide div
    function toggleDetails(theDiv) {
    	var currentStyle = document.getElementById(theDiv).style;
    	currentStyle.display = currentStyle.display? "":"block";
    }

//Check if text field empty
    function isEmpty(theTextField) {
       if ((theTextField.value.length==0) || (theTextField.value==null)) return true;
       else return false;
    }

//Send form
    function sendForm() {
    	var contactForm = document.forms[0];
    	var submitError = false;
    	if (isEmpty(contactForm.email)) {
    		document.getElementById("email-error").innerHTML = "Please type your e-mail address";
    		submitError = true;	
    	}
    	if (isEmpty(contactForm.message)) {
    		document.getElementById("message-error").innerHTML = "Please type your message";
    		submitError = true;	
    	}
    And for the form
    Code:
    <form action="" method="post" name="form1" id="form1">
          <input name="textfield" type="text" class="bodytext" value="Name" tabindex="1" onfocus="if (this.value=='Name'){this.value='';};return false;" onblur="if (this.value==''){this.value='Name';return false;}"/>

<br><br>