SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    St. Charles, Mo.USA
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    We have a site (www.theenglishshoponline.com) on line with Yahoo.
    We started with Simplenet and I guess Yahoo bought them out.
    We also had a webmaster to create our web site. He did his job (sorta)
    took the money (no problem) and ran (no help at all). You have to
    realize that we have absolutely no computer experience. Three months
    ago I got a computer and I’m trying to learn as fast as I can, but there’s
    so much to learn and so little time to do it. Our problem is that we have
    prices on our site that need to be changed, keywords that need to be
    changed and a guest book link needs to be put on the site. We have
    Frontpage on the computer but our X-webmaster said we could not
    use it on our site because he used Dreamweaver. He said “Frontpage
    would mess it up”. I asked Yahoo what they thought about it and they
    were so noncommittal and “not responsible” and “were not sure” but
    don’t blame them if it did not work, and on and on. I’m not going to get
    any help from them.
    I’m 54 years old and not over the hill YET, but at the same time I don’t
    want to start a new career in web publishing, but I am willing to learn one
    editor. Also Dreamweaver is $400.
    So, my question is, do you have any advice about using Frontpage to
    edit Dreamweaver?
    Without really knowing anything about them I have seen that there are
    other styles like “Hot Dog”($99) and “Notetab Pro”($19.99) and
    “Anachnophilia” (free) and “Home Site”($89), maybe all I need is one
    of them. I can really use some advice.
    Thank you for your time,
    Scott Kerivan (kerivan2@aol.com)


  2. #2
    SitePoint Guru CJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mechelen, Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    684
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you have FP2000 installed go ahead and make changes it will not mess it up. With earlier versions don't do it with FP than.

    Also make a backup before changing anything

    Christophe


    ------------------
    http://freesources.net - the ultimate webmaster resources site

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    montreal, quebec, canada
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    another option if you don't have Frontpage2000, is to download the 30-day free trial of Dreamweaver from the macromedia site ( http://macromedia.com ), and use it to do your editing. that way you can get the immediate things you need done now, and give yourself some breathing room for learning. You should have very little trouble doing the simple editing you mentioned yourself with either FP or dreamweaver, but if you need any help, you picked the right place to ask.

    best of luck

    ------------------
    Marty P
    marty@tinytin.com
    http://tinytin.com

    "Speak as though I know nothing but am capable of understanding everything."

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard TWTCommish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    3,910
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Scott,

    FrontPage won't mess it up if you stay away from some if it's "screwy" features...

    As for Yahoo, it's not their responsibility really.

    I've got some free time just about each weekend...you can email me and I can try to guide you through some things: chris@mycoding.com

    Hope this helps!



    ------------------
    Chris Bowyer - Programmer in Training
    MyCoding.com: Join our mailing list for launch notification!
    "I'm not an insomniac, I'm a web designer."

  5. #5
    Skills to Pay the Bills Sparkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    A cave with 47 computers and an internet feed
    Posts
    3,559
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Another editor that I've heard some great things about is 1st page 2000 - it's free and is available from www.evrsoft.com . From what I know, its very easy to use, flexible and doesnt hog up windows resources or memory like FP2000.

    If you do decide to tackle building your site yourself, I definitely suggest that you make a backup copy (or two). It will really help you along the way in building the site.

    Also if you have any questions about web design, myself or any of the other forum members would be glad to help

    Sparkie


    ------------------
    www.pawsitronic.com - The Site to Suit your Style!
    webmaster@pawsitronic.com
    MSN IM: pawsitronic@hotmail.com

  6. #6
    SitePoint Guru CJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mechelen, Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    684
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    EvrSoft 1st Page is a great program, but I wouldn't recommend it to those who don't know html.

    Christophe

    ------------------
    http://freesources.net - the ultimate webmaster resources site


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •