SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Sticky Situation

What do you do when a client asks you to help them set up software or access logs/referrer logs or play go between with their host becuase the client doesn't know what they're talking about or they ask you to do a conference call with their email provider because they want to redirect all the email with their web address on it and so on.

Basically, what do you do when you're asked to help, consult or do a little bit of tech support...generally things that are not within your job description ( I am a web designer and online marketer)?

What I have been doing so far is giving the assistance when needed and not charging for it. As a result, I think some clients think that this is standard or have come to expect it. Now its happening with a big client and its happening often and I think I need to set up some guidlines becuase I spent 2 hours helping this client with technical issues yesterday so that he can have referrer logs so that we can track his stats for search engine optmization. I told him that we will not charge him for the time spent so far but any future tech support or conulting will be charged at our standard hourly rate. Did I do the right thing? Any suggestions on how to better handle this?

Xbox why have you forsaken me? moospot's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would talk about it up front with your clients and discuss "consulting" fees. This is your time you are spending on your client, so I see it as billable hours.

If you continue to give people freebies, then they will expect it in the future. I'm glad you put your foot down.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Moospot.

Any suggestions how how to tactfully address the issue upfront as to what constitutes consulting so that they are aware of it and the charges incurred upfront?

Thanks

Xbox why have you forsaken me? moospot's Avatar