SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question Web development salaries?

Ok guys and girls, this is my first time posting here but I really need some advice.

Heres the background info... I work for a small web consulting firm in New England (small, as in, right now I'm the only employee, everyone else is back at school). Usually I write asp or php for online stores (a coworker and I wrote the code from scratch and is now used on probably 10 or 15 sites). I also install networks for businesses including vpns and setup webservers with apache on nt and linux. I've been working for this company for nearly a year now in and out of college. I'm 19 years old, and make 15 dollars an hour.

I was perfectly happy with my salary and doing what I do at my job until recently.

Just today I was given the biggest project that I've seen. In short, I have to construct a web application for a company to use a centralized place to store sales leads and customer information that can have records added, modified, deleted etc.
    Doesn't sound that bad, the catch is that theres over 6000 customers already, and more every day. Each customer can be linked to multiple sales leads, and each lead has about 120 individual 'pieces' of data.

For our ecommerce sites we usually just use MS Access databases and that works fine since the .mdb files are usually under a few megs. This database however, we estimate, will be approaching 2 gigs in size, so forget about Access. I've decided that I'll have learn MySql for the project.

It's obviously a lot of work, and I think that any person out of college would think that $15 an hour for such a project is ridiculous. But since I only have 5 years of experience in computers (I started working for an ISP when I was 15) and can only work full time during my summer and winter breaks from school, I obviously can't demand as much pay as a full time, 'regular' worker.