SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict sparkdigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Kendal, Cumbria - The Lake District, UK
    Posts
    249
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Unhappy Help - javascripts won't work in IE (but they do in FF)

    Hi,

    My set of javascripts isn't working in IE but they are in FF. The aim is to have a map of a golf course with hotspot links for each hole. When hovering over the hole a detailed shot of the hole appears (new image) and when clicked a popup opens with a virtual tour of the hole.

    It's a combination of the following:

    • a tooltip mouse over to display a detailed image
    • a popup when clicked
    • and these are linked from the same image map


    Confused? I am The preview page is here: http://ruddi-47003-001.dsvr.co.uk/go...urse-guide.php

    I've used the tooltip script from Dynamic Drive: http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...agetooltip.htm and the popup script can be found here: http://ruddi-47003-001.dsvr.co.uk/scripts/popUp.js

    Any help as to why this isn't working in IE would be great - or any alternatives on how to go about this!

    Many thanks,

    Konrad

  2. #2
    Who is Mr Blonde? Mr Blonde's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Gold Coast, QLD
    Posts
    359
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    dont quote me on it... but i read somewhere that IE has a problem with image maps.

    the only other way to go about it that i can think of is by slicing up the image and have the images of the holes as the links to the popup
    Heavens Rejects : Online Clothing Store
    Alternative Clothing : Mr Blonde
    Front end development : By the Webfella

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict sparkdigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Kendal, Cumbria - The Lake District, UK
    Posts
    249
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for your reply, but I'm not sure if the image map is the problem as the onClick command from the image map does work - it's only the mouseOver that doesn't work in IE. Could the two be conflicting?

    Thanks,

    Konrad

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard Pepejeria's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Too far up north
    Posts
    1,566
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Had a quick look at the scripts you are using. They are quite old, from 2002. They are also using an antique browser sniffer. You update the code to reflect todays browser situation (optimally kill the browser sniffer completely).

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict sparkdigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Kendal, Cumbria - The Lake District, UK
    Posts
    249
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Pepejeria,

    Thanks for your reply. Any suggestions where could I find the more updated versions of similar scripts?

    And something else - the javascript for the mouseOver is also conflicting with my drop down menu!!! How could this be avoided?

    Thanks,

    Konrad

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard Pepejeria's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Too far up north
    Posts
    1,566
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thats the danger of using global variables, there will be conflict sooner or later. You need to simply rename them so they don't have the same name.

    About where to find similar scripts, I don't know. Sorry. Try google.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •